Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location for sightseeing

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant location for local areas s of interest, loads of eating and drinking places within walking distance. Good food in hotel.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Bicester

Just an overnight stay

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay en route to Dordogne with secure car park. Probably closer to 2 star but good value. Hotel was basic and clean with very friendly reception but great surprise with top quality three course evening meal merited a free drink for the chef.
2 out of 5
by Olwen from Coussac-Bonneval

Hotel convenient for hospital visiting

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed 2 nights whilst my partner was in the local hospital. My only gripe regarding my room was the bright lighting, no way to just have one smaller dimmer light either side of the bed, it was brilliant bright light or nothing! Otherwise hotel definitely needs to get new carpets, all badly worn, faded and dated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Was second time there recently but was disappointed that we were allocated same room although the previous visit was with our dog
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired - avoid

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
This is a tired old hotel. Carpets worn and faded throughout, decor a couple of decades out of date. The layout is very confusing and there is no lift which made it very difficult with pram / baby stuff. The shower was very poor - broken shower head and inconsistent temperature. The service was ok but bizarrely timid. The neighbourhood is very quiet and we won't be going back to le boeuf rouge
4 out of 5
by Edwin from Sleaford, Lincolnshire

Overnight stay

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed over for one nite, Hotel staff very helpful, Room was clean and parking good, Breakfast was adequate but not the same as the INTER-HOTEL L'Haut' Aile, Coquelles Where we stayed the nite before this hotel was excellent and being the same group thought they would have been the same, sadly not.
3 out of 5
by Abigail from Guernsey

Pleasant stay near Oradour

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
We had a pleasant one night stay at Le Boeuf Rouge after visiting Oradour-sur-Glane. Unfortunately when we arrived (at check-in time) the hotel was closed, so we had a walk around the town until it opened. The reception staff were helpful, however spoke no English so our French was put to the test. The rooms were suitable for a one night stay, were clean and well-presented. The bathrooms were basic, but clean. The bar was a quiet place to sit for a drink before dinner, and the restaurant itself is worth eating in. Our evening meal was very good, with a wide range of menu choices. Service was pleasant, and the meals were served at a good pace (not too quick, we like to relax). We would definitely recommend the mushroom dishes - absolutely lovely!
4 out of 5
by Mrs J A from GY

Resting up

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here on way back up from Bordeaux. Room nice and clean, lots of hot water. Restaurant meal very good, excellent steaks with side dish of cepes. Good choice on buffet style breakfast. Good stopping off point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A lot of Hotel for your money

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast menu
Location: I only went to see The Martyrs Village so did not venture any further than that, However I believe there are numerous attractions in Limoge
A most enjoyable stay in an excellent hotel. My room was spacious and very clean with the added benefit of Air Conditioning. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained and the fact that the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool was a enormous plus. The buffet breakfast could have been a bit more varied but on the whole the food was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. 10/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good and Convenient Multi-Purpose Hotel

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: 16oz Limousin Ribeye Steak
Cons: Breakfast - typically sparse French breakfast.
Comfortable beds - I have problems in many hotels but these beds are fine. Clean Plenty of English-speakers Good but reasonably-priced restaurant Good car parking Central but easy to find.