Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Over priced breakfast, terrible food, not the room that I ordered, hard uncomfortable beds, room so small hard to move.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Kim - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear William, We are sorry that the stay was not up to your expectations. Know that the reception team is there to make sure that you have a great time at our hotel. You should not hesitate to address your dissatisfactions during the stay. It is true that since the renovations, we opted for bigger beds, what reduces the space of in the room. Mattresses are new, maybe it is the reason you find them too firm. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Fantastic location, great staff and yummy breakfast. Really recommended. Nice furniture in the lobby and rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice review ! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Cleannes, excellent maintenance of rooms and furniture, good breakfast (for extra fee), garage (for extra fee), location by the beach
Cons: More shelves for packing clothes in the lower level room, English news channel on TV
Location: location by the beach, 15-min walk from the old town
Our experience with regard to the hotel and the staff was overwhelmingly positive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you again. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

What an idyllic location!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, cleanliness, location opposite the beach and closeness to amenities. It is within a few minutes' drive of the ferry terminal too.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: For a one night stay, being opposite the beach meant grandchildren could easily expend excess energy! Our favourite restaurant was a short walk away.
Having stayed at Escale Oceania, St. Malo, last year we knew what to expect and were not disappointed! We were there just for one night before catching the ferry back to England but it was, again, superb. On arrival, we asked to change our room because having 2 adjoining was not practical with my 2 very small grandchildren. The change to a two-tier family room was effected quickly, with friendliness and understanding. The renovation/decoration work that has been carried out is most pleasing. The very sensible idea of having open shelving instead of drawers is excellent and will avoid our experience of last year when we accidentally left a very sentimental item in a drawer! (Needless to say, the staff packaged this and forwarded it by secure mail upon receiving our call!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear Gill, Thank you very much for your fantastic review ! It is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our renovated hotel and would be happy to welcome you once again next year. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

St Malo stop over

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Cleam with nice comfortable rooms - although a bit minimalist
Location: Plenty to see within the old town which is a 10 minute walk away
Good hotel for those who want to explore St Malo or waiting for the next day's ferry. Although there is no main restaurant this is not a problem as there are plenty within walking distance. If you are in a car make sure you book hotel parking as parking on the street is nearly impossible
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guets, Thank you very much for your kind review. You are entirely right. There are plenty restaurants within a few minutes walking and it is also better to book a parking space before the check in especially in high season. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montresl

All perfect!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Everything was perfect: really nice staff, duplex room is ideal for fsmilies, clean, recently redecorated, in front of the ses and by walking distance to Saint-Malo intra muros city. Would definitely go back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear Celine, Thank you very much for your kind review. it has been a pleasure to welcome you and we would love to welcome you once again. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable Hotel with Sea View

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Comfortable hotel, approx 10 min walk from Intra Muros. Had a room with a view overlooking the beach and sea. The room was not huge, but was comfortable and clean - a good shower room and sufficient wardrobe space for a week's stay. Reception staff were very polite and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Rocky Start Ended Smoothly

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Oceanview is exceptional . Close to the beach and restaurants. 10 minute walk to the walled city. Clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: Don't overbook,
Location: Swimming, walking, restaurants, shopping, Grand Aquarium, Jacques Cartier Musee.
Because we had guaranteed check in, we took our time driving from Paris to St. Malo. We arrived at 6 p.m. local time. When we did, we were told there had been a mistake and that all rooms were booked. We provided proof from Expedia that we had purchased the room well in advance and paid for it in full. They at first offered a different hotel 40 kms away. I explained that this was unacceptable. They treated my family of 4 to drinks on the house while they sorted it out. 15 minutes later, they found a room for us at the hotel. While not oceanside, they said they would get us one the following night, and in lieu of their mistake, gave us free parking (15 Euro/night) + free breakfast for the two mornings of our stay ($11 Euros per person). The room on the second night was exceptional.....fantastic views of the sea and beaches. A beautiful spot to visit. In the end, my family was very pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Nice hotel, unhelpful reception staff, no parking

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
We had a large room with working air conditioning. The hotel is just opposite the beach and not far from the city. The big draw back with the hotel was the lack of fridge or tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was overpriced for what it was and the room small and crowded so we did not bother for the rest of our stay. It was a nuisance though not being to make a cup of tea first thing or keep water cool. The staff on the reception were not particularly helpful or welcoming - but that is not unusual I fear. The other BIG drawback is the lack of parking. It is almost impossible to park in front of the hotel and they have no carpark, but we managed to find room in the rue du Calvaire just behind which also has a supermarket at the bottom for water, snacks etc. if needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Modern hotel near beach

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We were on a room in the annex behind the main building- a superior room? Low ceilings and view of the "garden" not eactly a beach view! A "trainee" on reception didn't help as we wandered - with luggage - around the wrong hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Lauranne - Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review. Our superior rooms do not have any sea view. If you would like to have a sea view, you have to book a "Deluxe room with sea view". Best regards,