Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Right near the ramparts

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Comfortable small hotel, part of the Logis chain which is one reason we hy we chose it. We like locally owned businesses and Logis reutation for fine food in their restaurants. Meal did not disappoint.Rooms are small but beds comfortable and we had a lovely view over the ramparts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Lovely Hotel perfectly located in the walled town

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; nice restaurant, clean and tidy, very close to the beach / town walls.
Cons: For the price, it would be hard to better.
Location: Hotel is right next to the town walls, and beach, and 5 minutes from St Malo old town centre. Plenty to do with nice walks, bars, restaurants etc.
Arrived at around 09.30 (Portsmouth ferry docks at 08.30...), too early for the room but the hotel let us leave the cases whilst we looked round and had a meal. Very helpfully, we got the room at early, at 11.30. All comfortable clean and tidy with an excellent powerful shower. Hotel is in a quiet area, has a good restaurant and is 50yds from the beach. Couldn't fault it. Great place for a short break....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight, England

Good location, right by the beach, close to shops.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Welcoming family hotel. Nice clean, well equipped, rooms, although the stairs are narrow. The location is just inside the ramparts and right by the beach and close to the main shopping street. Excellent breakfasts.
4 out of 5
by Diana

Hotel De La Porte Pierre St Malo

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely the only complaint was the shower was either lukewarm or cold. The tiles needed a good clean and the service tray in the room was almost empty. The restaraunt was brilliant fantastic food well cooked and presented. St Malo is not to be missed. Hotel only 5 minutes from the ferry. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

Great location but a bit noisy

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location and that it was run by a local family and not a chain.
Cons: Room fixtures and fittings could use a little upgrade - one of the window hinges was broken and the bed was not extra comfortable.
Location: Located within the St Malo citadel just within the city walls and directly next to the beach. Tricky to park if you are bringing a car.
This long-standing family-run hotel is in a great location facing directly over the St Malo city walls to the beach, but as a consequence has people passing by your window (if you have a sea view room) from early morning to late evening. This went on into the early hours on several occasions. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly and our room a good size.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Just a bed for the night
Cons: Fan in the room
Location: Great locationt
Average but clean and comfortable. Cleaner forgot to leave toilet paper, lucky toilet in the hall had some and we we could use that. Very hot so could do with a small fan in the room. We had a disability bathroom so would be great for anyone in wheel chair. Also our own door off the hall to outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Great location Intra-Muros

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Quaint, clean and great location close to west Ramparts. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again when in St Malo.
Cons: No complaints
Location: See TripAdvisor info for St Malo.
Great location, excellent sea views from top floor, no elevator and narrow stairway, lovely experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke UK

Very close to port and sea

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Very helpful friendly staff. Lovely clean bright room.
Cons: I found the breakfast situation a bit confusing. Nobody had the eggs or ham simply because they did not know what to do
Location: Fantastic location, right on the sea front. Lovely,
I didn't get a sea view room but a nice view down a cobbled street which was very pleasantly lit by lanterns. All was very quiet after 11:00. Room was very large and clean and bright. Staff spoke excellent English and were helpful. I had to make several journeys up to my room on the 2nd floor but my problem as I had so much baggage. They did offer to help but I am a proud woman! I felt breakfast could have been better. I took my own rolls (ceoliac) and was very limited in choice. Most continental breakfasts have cheese etc. The homemade jams were a nice touch. It was only as I left that I saw the fridge in the corner with ham and eggs. I am not sure if the eggs were cooked or if you had to pop them in boiling water from the coffee machine. I had a lovely meal in their sister restaurant just over the street, excellent. I have no problems in recommending this hotel to anyone. It is very close to the ferry port, under twenty minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Perfectly located intramuros hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location, family hotel with genuinely friendly staff (and in restaurant). Good value for money.
Cons: Shower space a bit tight. But would expect that given older style building.
Location: Perfect for a short stay in St Malo when you want to have a traditional experience ("All the Light you cannot see"). Can walk from quay, with cases
Arrived early, about 9 am after overnight ferry trip from Portsmouth and was able to get into our room immediately. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Originally had been allocated a 3rd floor room but were able to switch to 2nd as we had a lot of luggage (on a European trip from Australia). Access to ramparts is less than 3 mins walk so we were able to see and do a lot in 24 hour stay in St Malo
5 out of 5
by Bill from Toronto

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Nice small new hotel room with seaview. Historic property in anaweesome location. 2floor had tourists walking by my window very close!