Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford. UK

Close to Shopping

Posted May 31, 2017
Very well run hotel. Staff very helpful with excellent English. Easy walking from hotel to shops. Breakfast buffet good quality but limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by syl, Hotel Management
your satisfaction is our reward
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Fine hotel, convenient location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Located near the ramparts girding the old cty,, friendly and helpful staff, generous breakfast buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by syl, Hotel Management
thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great stay at a great location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Stayed here over spring break (week before Easter) with 9yr old daughter. We were in the suite. Very spacious. The sofa bed was already prepared for her when we arrived. Front desk spoke English. The staff running the breakfast brunch less so, but I feel that added to the charm of the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were very happy with the room. Hotel had good restaurant reservations. Parking was an issue intramuros. Hotel had very limited spots and were already reserved. The nearest pay lot was just outside the wall but there was no way to reserve a spot there. The hotel recommended the Qpark, less than a 5 min walk away. With an online reservation it was much cheaper than the daily unreserved rate (18.25€ vs. 30€) and so easy to use. I was emailed a scan code to let us in the garage. Plenty of spots with in and out privileges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by syl, Hotel Management
your satisfaction is our reward
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sherston, wiltshire

Disappointing

Posted Apr 16, 2017
It was ok, but for £135 we expected a little more. We were treated with an air of snobbery by the staff who looked down there noises at us. The room was very dark and we were woken up by reception at 7am. We would recommend not having room 1 as this is next the reception and the main access doors to hotel facilities. We did mention this to the hotel staff who told us "it is was it is" and "we should of booked a better room". Saint Malo is lovely but would not recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by syl, Hotel Management
We regret your disappointment in your stay at the hotel. Easter weekend combined with French school holiday meant that St Malo was very busy and the hotel full at 100%. When we can provide an alternative room, we do our best to satisfy our clients. Our staff receives high marks for their helpfullness on all websites and we apologize if you felt the service was under it's usual high level. We do not understand however that you found the room dark with two windows in the bedroom and a full window in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Very pleasant hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, and modern.
Cons: Although the breakfast was good, the coffee was not hot. Had difficulty operating the safe and the thermostat.
This lovely old hotel has been beautifully renovated and is very comfortable. The staff were efficient and helpful. The room is not large, which is typical in Europe, but was large enough for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by syl, Hotel Management
thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Unique town, very atmospheric
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming, UK

Chosen because of a bath, but almost missed out.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Very close to all that we wanted to see in the old town. Good that we had selection of bottled water each day.
Cons: More soundproofing between walls and floors of rooms would be good. We wanted a bath/shower (as shown in all the photos) but our room only had a shower. They were quick to change the room but the room was smaller. Bath/shower or Shower should be stipulated and an area to tick to stop confusions. We chose this hotel because it only showed baths with all the rooms in this upgrade price range.
Location: A walk round the old walls is a must-do. Great historic sights. Lots of good restaurants all around the town. Great beaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Syl, Hotel Management
Half of the hôtel is equiped with bathtubs the other half with showers in every room categories. You are moor than welcome to give us your preference privous arrival we wish to remind that the hotel is located in an old building where every rooms are diffrents When you have special request feel free to talk to us, a direct contact is always the better way for a good understanding of what you will get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you have read"all the light we cannot see"

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, excellent breakfast.