Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Beautiful hotel and a great location. The hotel is next to the Basilica and the main attractions. The room are clean and the bed was ammazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very charming hotel near St Maximin Basilica

Posted Feb 23, 2018
This is the ideal place to stay in St. Maximin! Full of character, history and right next to the St Magdalene Basilica. If you're on a spiritual journey, you couldn't feel happier with your choice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Hotels
Disappointed that the room in the online picture does not reflect the actual room. After booking months ahead from the US, the week before our trip from Washington DC, we received a message to move our planned reservation date due to a large party. Due to this large party and insufficient staffing we couldn't even eat at their pub. This place is very out of the way, and very few restaurants nearby. However the building structure and grounds are dreamlike if you like staying in castles, especially this one attached to a cathedral, which to our surprise, houses the crypt of Mary Magdalene.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible experience!

Posted Dec 7, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a unique experience that’s unforgettable! Connected to the local basilica, you couldn't ask for a more dreamy experience of France. The history of the place is alive within the corridors and guest rooms. The staff was lovely and great local restaurants & shops are right outside the doors. The visitors center is also connected to the property with helpful information. The courtyard & restaurant are absolutely beautiful! I will stay again without a doubt.
1 out of 5
by Valerie

Find a different hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
If you are traveling with a friend you're put in a small room. The beds are very low to the ground and cave in the center of the bed. When discussing the beds with management they said it was typical for the beds. Not good, left the hotel early drove to another town where the hotel beds were wonderful. Would not recommend or stay there if you need a room with 2 beds. There was an expo there so enjoying the beautiful courtyard area was not possible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from epsom surrey

location and restaurant great. Room storage poor.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Poor storage even though we had the basic room. Needed a chest of drawers and sensible depth wardrobe too short to hang dresses or coats.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very historical & situated in a small quiet town, easy to find & quick access to the motorway, the staff was very helpful & friendly too. However, the room itself was a bit basic & dated, specially the bathroom. Due to its an old building, no aircon was installed in the room, although fan was provided, but still too warm for the Summer in South France. No water is provided and there are not many shops around in the small town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent atmospheric hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was a lovely atmospheric hotel. Did the job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from helsinki

Feel good in historical atmosphere

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: This is an historical and unique environment where you can really feel relaxed! We should be happy this kind an opportunity/object exists for younger generations. Staying there was an enjoyment! We can only to recommend !!!
Cons: We were more than satisfied. Nothing to criticize !
Location: Easy to find the way with own car. Nice small city around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel, grounds, parking on site

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous surroundings, wonderful restaurant and meeting facilities
Cons: Looks like it might be cold in winter due to old windows
Location: Next to basilica