Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from epsom surrey

location and restaurant great. Room storage poor.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Poor storage even though we had the basic room. Needed a chest of drawers and sensible depth wardrobe too short to hang dresses or coats.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very historical & situated in a small quiet town, easy to find & quick access to the motorway, the staff was very helpful & friendly too. However, the room itself was a bit basic & dated, specially the bathroom. Due to its an old building, no aircon was installed in the room, although fan was provided, but still too warm for the Summer in South France. No water is provided and there are not many shops around in the small town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent atmospheric hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was a lovely atmospheric hotel. Did the job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from helsinki

Feel good in historical atmosphere

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: This is an historical and unique environment where you can really feel relaxed! We should be happy this kind an opportunity/object exists for younger generations. Staying there was an enjoyment! We can only to recommend !!!
Cons: We were more than satisfied. Nothing to criticize !
Location: Easy to find the way with own car. Nice small city around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful hotel, grounds, parking on site

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous surroundings, wonderful restaurant and meeting facilities
Cons: Looks like it might be cold in winter due to old windows
Location: Next to basilica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, England

Really nice hotel, though not perfect

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Lovely building.
Cons: Tea/coffee making facility
Location: Nice small town with good market on Wednesdays. Nice walk in Ste Baume up to Mary Magdalen cave. About 45/60 mns drive from coast.
Lovely hotel, spacious, clean and gorgeous building. There was no tea/coffee making facility in the room, but maybe there generally isn't in French hotels? We also wished it was closer to the coast. It is in a nice little town, but not a lot to do there. We would still recommend this hotel though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is excellent

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is on beautiful grounds, lovely outdoor sitting areas, rooms are adequate not large, no air conditioning though windows open for a breeze.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Old monastery next to Basilica Mary Magdalene

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The feel of it, the old building, the fact that it was once a place held sacred.
Cons: I found the service to be lacking for a four star hotel. No one helped with my luggage and I am in my 60's. They did allow to leave luggage until 3.
Location: Old quaint French town in the countryside with lots of shops, restaurants and hikes in the area. Sacred sites too.
I loved staying in the old monastery-the building is wonderful and well done. It is very well located for my purposes which was to spend time in the Basilica and travel to surrounding areas. It has a great feel to it.
5 out of 5
by Herve from Canada

provence vacation

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and pleasant stop on the way to Marseilles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful atmosphere

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Simple but comfortable room that overlooked the cloister. Night staff was so helpful for transportation problems when we arrived late and found bus schedules and arranged taxis for us. Not easy to get to via public transport . Breakfast pain du chocolat was very fresh! Wish we had more than a one night stay.