Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good affordable hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Price! Breakfast was good. Proximity to the town.
Cons: If they'd had the evening menu in the rooms, we might have eaten there.
Location: For us, just en route.
The room was small but comfortable. The restaurant looked amazing - we wished we'd eaten there, and the hotel staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
by Alan from England

comfortable room at a good price

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice friendly place with a comfortable room at a good price. Everything was clean and tidy and breakfast was good. A good choice for an overnight stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel Le Chic Ô Rail.

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay; could'nt fault the location of the hotel or the staff. This is right next to the station which could be a little noisy although we didn't have any problems. Nicely decorated, nice fresh continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by R Richardson from Purley

Stopping off point

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Low price budget hotel in good location if you don't wish to stay in Calais when travelling to and from the UK and depending on your journey time good stopping off point. Budget price therefore don't expect 5 star room. Clean and small. Bar and restaurant surprisingly good and excellent local beer. Good breakfast for the money. Staff very helpful. Right next to railway station which is huge. Car park. Good for the price.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Worksop

Smelly scruffy dated room but decent food

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was very shabby and dated. The whole room (and especially the bathroom) stunk of sewers. Whether or not this was to do with the torrential rain that had been falling before we arrived I do not know. We only had one towel and two dirty little plastic cups of which one had some loose change in so obviously hadn't been washed. The room was in need of a facelift. Besides that the hotel restaurant was actually good and the food was the good side of avavara. Would not stop there again because of the foul stench in the room if for no other reason
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chic-o-Rail

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived late - having had difficulty finding the hotel - no GPS. The search was not helped by heavy rain, however on arrival good welcome from the staff on duty. Breakfast was adequate. Convenient as stop-over (once location known) on way to channel ports.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Shabby" chic hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel looked worn out and tired and there was a horrible smell coming from the shower. The food was ok and the service was good. The facilities in the room were poor, the kettle lead didn't reach the plug socket, horrible cheap plastic cups to drink hot drinks from. No tea or coffee sachets in room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Staff were welcoming
Cons: Cleanliness Air-con / better ventilation
Breakfast was disappointing No air con in rooms Tired decor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value, quirky hotel with friendly service

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderfully quirky hotel well-worth a visit! The stairs are steep to the first floor and the room overlooked the large square in front of the station which is currently under subtle renovation. The bed was very comfortable and there was a fan to keep the room cool. We were not disturbed by any train noise although the trains do pass through and stop at the temporary station a short distance away. The restaurant is also great value and has something for everyone. The car park was quite full on arrival on a Monday evening and the restaurant busy but, come morning, it seems that most of those eating were locals so a good sign in my book! We had the Gourmet Menu and treated ourselves to a Kir Royale for a total of £26 per head- amazing value and wonderful service. We sat outside on the terrace and despite being the only ones outside, the delightful waitress was very perceptive to our needs and we never felt forgotten. We'll definitely stay here again on our way through. It also means that you can take the D943 towards the Eurotunnel and avoid a lot of the problems in Calais by joining the free part of the motorway A16 at Junction 46.