Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Convenient for ferries

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Nothing
Location: N/A
You get what you pay for , well designed room with good facilities.
5 out of 5
by Elaine

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
Reception was closed the day we arrived, but they gave us clear instructions on how to check in and enter and it was all very simple and straightforward. The room was clean and comfortable and was well equipped with everything we needed. The complimentary cleaning pack and dishwasher tablets were a really usefull touch. There was a good games room and outdoor pool, which was clean and well maintained. The position was good for getting into town and to the beaches and the ferry was a two minute drive. My only criticism was the cost of parking, we understood it was 5 euros per day but turned out to be 9 euros per day, which I felt was a bit expensive, however there was a free carpark nearby. Other than that it was a great experience and I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good budget option near to sights

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient and clean in a great location. Reception rarely open and rooms a little cramped but fine for a short stay.
3 out of 5
by Hung Pin from London

Value for money

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
We like the neighborhood .but room is too small for family. It's value for money hotel in Saint Marlo area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

See you next time

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
great place to stay, waking distance from the Old Town and stores.
5 out of 5
by S from Halifax

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent stay at Ty Mat. Perfect location in Saint-Servan Centre for shops bars buses beach etc and no distance to St Malo old town. The rooms have everything you need including towels, just need to buy washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets. If the corridors are too dark for you try turning on the lights!
3 out of 5
by Sonia Aguiar from Richmond VA

Dark and dirty hallways

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels
Our experience at this hotel could have been better if it wasn't for the darkness of the hallways and the dog feces left behind by guests with dogs. We observed that people did not pick up after their dogs anywhere in St. Malo (not sure if the rest of France is the same), so the same applied in the hotel hallways. Other than that, the room was clean and adequate for our short stay. The staff was average, not very friendly, in my opinion, specially when I told them of the dog droppings in the hallway, which was a bit disturbing that they did nothing about.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Alastair from London

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pierre & Vacances are normally entirely functional rather than comfortable but the residence Ty Mat exceeded our expectations. Well situated in Saint Malo, we had a quiet room on the first floor and opted to use the bunk beds rather than the sofa bed, which were surprisingly comfortable. Cooking facilities perfectly adequate, 2 electric infra red style rings, and a microwave/oven. OK, one 2 man sofa could have been supplemented but at the price we paid (£80 for 2 nights) there can be no complaints! The reception staff friendly & helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels
We were dismayed by not having towels provided, having to make up our own bed, no housekeeping during our stay and being told that we had to pay upfront a 200 euro deposit in case of any damage we might cause during our stay. Very unsatisfactory. Hotel. com need to forewarn customers of such things.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Dee from Jersey

Good short break

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Liked location
Cons: Swimming pool not in action and not being told about this.
Room was clean, well decorated and perfectly adequate for our family of 3adults. Staff were friendly and efficient. We phoned in advance to say that we expected to arrive after morning opening hours and were given a key code to get in, although as it happened we arrived before 12 o'clock. We had read comments so took towels, dishwasher tablets etc and had no car so avoided additional costs. Novelty to manage without Internet for a few days. Good sized fridge. We found bed settee OK- wouldn't choose it for long term but no problem for a few nights. We weren't told in advance info that swimming pool is closed all summer - that would have been useful and meant fewer towels. We really liked Saint Servan - lots of little shops, supermarket around the corner. Theatre cafe bar does set lunch for about 9Euros. Bus if you want it is just around the corner in front of town hall. Buy a carnet of 10 tickets for less than 10 Euros only available from the train station office. Each one is valid for an hour and a half, so you can get onto another bus. Eg can go from Saint Servan to train station and swap to Cancale bus all for less than a Euro. Excellent value. All in all a fun break.