Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking - Great find

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel very last minute as I needed to stay in the area and there were very few options available at this low season time. The hotel was charming and the staff were very helpful and quick. There is a very nice bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, which, while I didn't use them, seemed lively and welcoming. The view from the hotel room was breathtaking. Breakfast was excellent quality (freshly squeezed orange juice, local cheeses and charcuterie available) and cost 12 Euros. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Lynette from Bournemouth, England

Superb Restaurant.

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, friendly staff & an excellent restaurant where we had a superb, reasonably priced dinner. Only one small criticism, we were on the third floor, and the lift only went as far as the second floor! Other than that, we would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Chalet-style hotel in mountain village

Posted Oct 9, 2014
With no previous experience with mountain resorts in the Alps, I cannot say if this hotel is actually called a "chalet", but it certainly is suggestive of one. It boasts lots of wood and large balconies overlooking the village street. And Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise is a mountain resort village. In winter such resorts cater to skiers, and in summer, to hikers; fall is a slow season and some resort hotels and even entire communities basically close down for a few months. But Le Monal still seemed quite active. A large group of guests left together in the early morning, perhaps for a hike. The staff in the dining room seemed quite busy and sometimes almost distracted. When we came down for breakfast, they were cleaning up and setting tables for lunch already. (Perhaps they were used to people having breakfast very early, while we wandered down around 8:30 or 9). As we arrived at the hotel after dark (around 8 pm), we found a note on the front desk with our room key and instructions as to where to go. This was reassuring and we were also able to search out staff in the bar or restaurant to deal with questions. We had a good (though not spectacular) dinner in the restaurant, and breakfast was satisfying, with interesting local cheeses. The room was comfortable and adequately large. We enjoyed the novelty of having the toilet in one room and the shower/ sink in another. With free parking on the street, the car was not a worry. We only wished we could have stayed a bit longer!
5 out of 5
by Bernard from London

economic skiing

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
well situated for Espace Killy without paying "killy" prices
5 out of 5
by Jacey

Cosy, charming hotel - will definitely stay again

Posted Apr 25, 2012 on Hotels
Super hotel, tastefully renovated to give an authentic alpine charm with a modern twist. Staff were friendly and welcoming, rooms were spacious, bright and spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Le Monal - boutique experience in the Alps

Posted Jun 29, 2011 on Hotels
We loved this place - friendly staff, boutique hotel feel, amazing view of the mountains from our room, geraniums on our balcony, superb stone gril dinner in the restaurant. No idea why it's only 2 stars - presumably because the lift is tiny and there are no complementary toiletries in the bathroom, but who cares?! No air con so it might get warm in the height of summer I guess.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SUPER ENDROIT

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Bel endroit paisible et restauration remarquable. belle cave pour les amateurs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Les montagnes en face

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
On a passe une nuit. La chambre était agréable avec une belle vue sur les montagnes en face. Le restaurant était bon.
5 out of 5
by Francois from Paris

Je recommande

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Belle chambre, état impeccable, décorée avec goût, comme l'hôtel. Bon restaurant également dans l'hôtel. Seul bémol, un peu bruyant, mais sans doute parce que ma chambre était au-dessus des cuisines.
5 out of 5
by Marcus from Griesheim

Ideal für Motorradfahrer auf der GTA

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Auf unserer Motorrad-Tour über die "Route des Grandes Alpes" hatten wir in diesem motorradfahrerfreundlichen Hotel in entspannter "Berg-Hütten"-Atmosphäre einen sehr schönen Aufenthalt! Das zugehörige Restaurant und die Bar sind urig gemütlich und bieten beste Speisen und Getränke. Wir hatten ein Zimmer im 3. Stock (Aufzug vorhanden!) mit Balkon und Turmblick. Das Frühstück war gut und ausreichend mit einem SEHR GUTEN Cappuccino und frisch gepresstem Orangensaft! Das Hotel liegt direkt an der Strasse Richtung Col de L'Iseran, sodass wir nach dem Frühstück direkt durchstarten konnten. Das Personal war sehr freundlich, wir fanden dieses Hotel hat eine "Seele"!