Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Nice stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Had a good time staying there. Little too far from Saint Tropez but overall nice stay.
1 out of 5
by Mimi from San Francisco

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Room should be rate as a negative 1 not 4 star! We left!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, comfortable, no mini bar or coffee

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The room we took has a great view and is quite comfortable in terms of mattress and pillows. The staff are ok They don't have a minibar in the room nor coffee and the service charge is 14 euro extra for room service which maybe the highest in the world. Breakfast for 1 in the room costs 18 euro and then 14 euro service charge!!! Quite high!! And they write it in a vague way so you don't feel it while ordering! Other than that, as value for money it's good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Old and run down, staff not very helpful

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The carpets in our room were stained, water marks on the wall, staff left us for 1hr 30 mins before our room was ready (2.5hrs after checkin started) we weren't even offered a drink, and at 7euros a beer, that would have been nice. We asked for an iron, their response was "well if we can get one back from someone else", again not very helpful. On the plus side, the restaurant is delicious and the staff were pretty good in there. The pool is lovely and the views are great. It is about 6km from St Maxime, not walking distance. our room was below the restaurant so from 6am you could hear the scraping of chairs. Our room was a room used as a suite but when used as a single room, the doors in between we're locked. This meant we had no safe in our room, despite being told all rooms have safes. The wifi is intermittent and non existent if you are on floor 3 or below. Overall, would be fine if you are going out and exploring the local area, not for a weeks stay.
4 out of 5
by Edmond from Richmond Hill

A grand facility

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great find for the Cote d'Azure region. Close to Sainte-Tropez and spectacular ocean view. You have to enjoy a daily mountain drive on narrow winding roads and tight underground parking. A very fun driving experience for those that love driving and Europe. This is a grand facility that is tired but shouldn't be ignored.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Austin

Golf and Solitude

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place, rooms were adequate, most staff members we're friendly. Very nice hotel if your goal is to get away from all things convenient. About a 10 min drive up the hill from St Maxine. The closest train station is St Rafael about 40 mins drive. Very secluded and quiet. The golf course looked very beautiful and you received a discount if you were staying at the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

returning customer

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Golf Course. View.
Cons: Needs full refurbishment in all facilities, lift, reception, façade, rooms, toilets, common parts, doors, floors, lighting etc..
Location: I like Ste Maxime as it has nice beaches, coffee houses, bars and a lot of restaurants as well as nice local shops. the ferry to St Tropez is good.
I have been using this hotel for more than 12 years. I had it reasonable, comfortable and as I do not use the facilities other than the golf course, I find it suitable for my needs. It needs desperate complete total refurbishment for everything in the hotel and soon. The staff are helpful and cheerful, but some speak French only which is a drawback as I, and my colleagues are not fluent in the French language. Room service is slow, but acceptable.
4 out of 5
by Ludwig from London

Great views

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
A perfect hotel for a bit of peace and quiet. The hotel and rooms are very nice inside and it has a lovely pool and bar area. The reception staff are really friendly but the girls who work in the breakfast area need to learn how to smile and be much more friendly. Other than that, we had a pleasant time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

The Amarante Golf/Spa Hotel near St Tropez

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The Views. Breakfast.
Cons: A complete renovation. downgrade of Star rating.
Location: Location was ok about 40 minutes drive into St Tropez. 10mins from a water park and an adventure forest park.
Views great. The location was good with car. Breakfast was good within a nice breakfast room with great views. Our room was terrible - the smell was a musty/mouldy. The room was dirty The decor was very much in need for updating. We needed to navigate through two lift system to get down to our 2nd floor, smelly/dirty room. WIFI in the room was not strong, my Children had to sit by the main room door to get slightly better wifi. This hotel was our low point on our three week holiday whilst staying in 5 different hotels in France.
2 out of 5
by Sullman from London

Bad experience - wasted of time

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Booked in for two days in a superior room with sea view. When I got into the room, it was right at the end of the hotel and had views of trees and no sea view, room also did not have any wifi as specified. The condition of the room was poor, and looked like it had not been redecorated since the 80's, and seemed more like a 2 or 3 star hotel, not a four star. Complained about the room and lack of wifi and gave the hotel 4 chances to rectify the situation, wasting half a day waiting for them to change my room as promised, which they never did. In the end had to abandon the room change as they were taking too long (they ended up ringing me on my last night in the evening to say a room was ready - pointless). Also, made the excuse up that the hotel was fully booked (even though they said I could pay to upgrade my room for something similiar with a better view and wifi). TV: Only had 12 channels (all french) Access: Had to use 2 lifts and a bit of walikng inbetween to get to my room. Location: 10 minutes drive from St Maxine (nice little town near the sea) Bathroom: Dated but okay Room: Dated and not so great (orange 70s theme) Staff: Generally customer service was bad (more worried about getting more money, themselves, than helping customers resolve issues) Overall: Have stayed at many hotels over the years, this one was probably the worst for customer service, as well as the condition of the hotel