Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: Staff and clean rooms.
Cons: I should have checked the seasons for the wind factor ahead of time.
Location: Just outside town, 15 mins walk or 3 mins by taxi. No traffic. Key shops close by. Resort still developing. Dune buggies and beach activities availabl
Hotel nice, staff helpful and quietly efficient. The wind blew and blew...but windbreaks enabled sunbathing to take place. Great fresh fish. Taxis cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Marta Vaz, Hotel Management
Dear Hector, Thank you for your review and nice comments. It has been a pleasure to have you at Hotel Dunas de Sal. We are really happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and the overall service. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Kindest regards from Sal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated Hotel in Santa Maria

Posted Feb 7, 2017
This is an aging hotel that would benefit from some modernization and updates. It is located a fair walk from the town or any stores, and there is currently a massive construction project across the street (that will be underway for what looks like quite a long time) that is blocking any access to the beach (and creating noise pollution). The buffet breakfast is decent, the pool is nice and sheltered, and the staff was kind. The limited access to wifi, which is only available in the restaurant and lobby, and requires frequent 1-hour vouchers to use, is an insult given the cost of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Across the street from the beach with nice staff.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Beach activities or party in town.
Rooms are very basic, but clean and have all you need. Strange are the changes for using safe in the room. Internet works only near reception and restaurant (but is free). We had breakfast included in the room price but lunch and diner is expensive for N.Am. standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by hotel Dunas de Sal, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for your taking your time to write Hotel Dunas de Sal a review on Expedia website. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. WE work hard to offer a great experience for all our guests. It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Dunas de Sal and we hope we have the chance to welcome you any time soon once again. Kindest regards from Sal The team of Hotel Dunas de Sal
5 out of 5
by Chloe from York, England

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, very comfy and clean with good service. Pool and surrounding area was extremely clean and would come again! Were b&b and this suited us just right as plenty of places to eat within a 15-20 min walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chole, Thank you very much for your comments and for taking a bit of your time to write such a nice review about Hotel Dunas de Sal. The team is very happy you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely hopes to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearby future. Kindest regards, The team Hotel Dunas de Sal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Small quiet hotel with lovely pool and near beach

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Small, quiet and peaceful with great pool and the best garden in Sal! Staff very nice. Balconies by rooms are without wind!
Cons: Free wifi rather than present token system.
Location: As above
The staff were lovely and friendly and helpful. The location is presently peaceful but the Hilton is being built opposite and is between it and the beach. Development of further hotels is everywhere, so it will be very different in 10 years. Near enough to town to walk in for supper in various restaurants. Not a lot to do on Sal bar water sports but beach and sea are great! We took bus to Espargos and then taxi to old salt works, which was interesting. Breakfast fine with lots of choice and fresh fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Hotel Dunas de Sal, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you so much for this great description of our hotel. I think your comments will be certainly useful for upcoming visitors. :) The team is really happy to know you have enjoyed your holidays with us and have experienced the tranquil and relaxed atmosphere of Hotel Dunas de Sal. We hope to welcome you once again in a nearby future. Hotel Dunas Team
5 out of 5
by gillian from leeds

santa maria vacation

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
excellent hotel and excellent staff nothing too much for them, best breakfast on Sal
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Holiday hotel for Sal.

Posted Dec 3, 2011
Dunas de Sal it's a very good hotel, service is good, food is excellent, 10 minutes walk to beach or city center. It's definitely a good place to stay for a week or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfied

Posted Nov 5, 2011
It is modern and small 4* hotel, not overcrowded, so you can enjoy privacy. Has a nice swimming pool. Close to the beach and Santa Maria village. Restaurant is good (quality of food), comparing even with ‘famous’ hotel ‘Morabeza’. We have visited all 5*-4* hotels in the Island and were satisfied with the choice. If you expect luxury, then Sal is not a right destination at all. It is more oriented for low budget travels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portugal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schweiz

Nettes Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Ebookers
Das Hitel ist noch nicht ganz fertig renoviert, die Zimmer sind jedoch sehr schön ausgestattet, und man merkt nicht viel von den Umbauarbeiten. Der Pool ist sehr hübsch gestaltet. Dank seiner überschaubaren Grösse geniesst man ebenfalls Ruhe und Privatsphäre. Strand und Restaurants sind in wenigen Minuten zu Fuss erreichbar. Wir würden das Hotel sofort weiterempfehlen.