Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Place - Horrible service

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice property. Nice Beach. Nice pools. Horrible service especially in the restaurants. Very average food. They need to get their act together. No wi-fi in the room unless you pay extra for the levels service (40 euros per person per day). This is do not disclosed when you book.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

charter holiday crowd

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
wifi cover was poor, many mosquitos. Food was very varied. There are not enough beds by pool or beach for the hundreds of guests and people try to park towel on bed for the entire day. The beach is perfect sand but rocks do not permit entry into the water. A charter flights all inclusive crowd with. The free alcohol is of poor unbranded quality. Staff are exceptionally nice and hard working and kitchen does an effort to vary food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
seaside resaurant GRILLO and pool Restaurant WATERSIDE are nice with good Ambiente and Service. Main Restaurant is too packed and loud
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cheap hotel and low level to be a Melia

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
No wifi in the room just in common areas Gym if you can call it gym machines old and broken Underpands hanging in a try in front of our window Food not nice We will not repeat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Special Experiences

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The staff is very well trained and attentive. In our experience everything flowed very smoothly because of their attention to detail.
Cons: There was some construction going on at the adjoining beach which made some noise, but it appears that this is almost done.
Location: We were satisfied at the resort so we never really left other than to go along the beach. The resort is right on the beach.
My wife and I came here (first time to Cape Verde) for eight days to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We made an excellent choice. Excellent location for relaxation, especially since that is all we wanted to do. I spoke to the staff and they arranged a private dinner on the beach for us the evening of our anniversary with candles, a special bouquet of flowers for her, and a special menu. The attention of detail from the staff was amazing. And to make it even more special, my wife cannot eat gluten, which we had not told them in advance. When we were arranging which restaurant to eat in the first night my wife mentioned it to the coordinator that was scheduling these. A few hours later we were walking through the main entrance area and were greeted by the head of all the catering who personally guided my wife through the various options she had and from that point on they were always watching out for her. They even had gluten-free pasta for her! She was very impressed. We used the spa facilities three times, always with exceptional service. If you are going to relax and have a true vacation this is the place to be. We are planning to return (this time with our daughter, which we had conveniently left with her grandparents for this trip).
4 out of 5
by Kevin from USA

A nice surprise!

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
The lobby was outstanding and the rooms were huge. I was quite impressed overall with everything. If I had to pick something to complain about, it would be the lack of wifi in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. Food is ok but could be of greater quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Melia Tortuga is very nice

Posted Jul 22, 2014
I've stayed at 5 star resorts and while I wouldn't say Melia is of that caliber, it is certainly a strong 4 star. I think the 3.3 rating currently here isn't fair. The hotel staff were all very accommodating and friendly. The entertainment and facilities were excellent. Food was very good and I was most pleased with the room. There are some rough edges that could be smoothed out (the insect problem would be most notable) but they are minor at most. Perhaps some people were expecting their own slice of westernization to seclude them from the African desert island which they visited. My advice to them is to skip Sal entirely and go to Ibiza or Cancun, they have what you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All inclusive in Sal

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Nice hotel with appartment style rooms (living room, small kitchen and two bedrooms), ideal for a family or 2 couples of friends. All inclusive, very helpful and friendly staff, entirely devoted to make your stay ideal. They accomodated all we asked for (room with ocean view, late check out at 3pm etc.). One buffet style restaurant and 3 restaurants "a la carte", one of which is next to the beach and is really nice for watching the sunset. If you like all inclusive style hotel, this one is for you !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
Courteous and friendly staff. Good traditional Cape Verdean dinner on Sunday evening. We found the buffet style dinners at the Spice restaurant better than the other inclusive restaurant options.