Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Beautiful and elegant hotel, totally will recommend, clean lines, sophisticated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Stylish Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The staff is the best thing about this hotel.
Location: About a 5 minute walk from the Metro. Via Metro, about 10 - 15 minutes from all major sites.
We were there for a vacation, but this hotel is probably best suited for business visitors. In any event, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff is exceedingly professional and pleasant. The rooms are small but very well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to Barceló Emperatriz and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We hope to welcome you back soon. Receive a warm greeting from Barceló Emperatriz Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great city break

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Lovely hotel. Staff extremely helpful. Not in the centre so quieter but easy to get to all the sites on foot or by tube. Pool very small but fine to cool down in. Nice gym
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality and service delivered and will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed the terrace and the gym. We thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Nice hotel easy to get to everything

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The waitstaff were equivalent to the four seasons which is the best in the industry. Friendly,curteous. The bellman even went to buy stamps at the local store for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we really appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Receive a warm greeting from Barceló Emperatriz Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Madrid Location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: We loved the rooms, bathroom, lobby and roof deck.
Cons: Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: You can shop in the best neighborhood, Salamanca. You can walk to Retiro, the big park. You can also walk to Gran Via. Great resataurants nearby.
We loved everything about this hotel. The lobby is clean and appealing. The staff is very helpful. Our room was a pleasant surprise, great modern bathrooms and comfortable bedding. We enjoyed the roof deck every evening for drinks and a beautiful view of Madrid. There is even a cute small pool. The neighborhood is safe and walking distance to the best shopping on Serrano.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The grey-brown colour of the walls is depressing

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: Change the wall color!
The color of the walls chosen by the architect is dark and unappealing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we regret that the color of the walls was not pleasing, it is considered a neutral color that does not compete in a space and that combines with any additional color, hence the choice. In addition, it recreates the color of the era in which the hotel is set and follows the line of the favorite colors of Empress Eujenia de Montijo. However, we hope the rest of the stay has been to your liking and to be able to receive you in the future. Regards, Barceló Emperatriz Team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Spacious and clean room & bathroom

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great customer service. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Delicious food! Room and bathroom was clean and spacious. Very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Elegant hotel in beautiful neighborhood.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
One of the best hotel experiences I have had. The rooms are well-designed with custom millwork and soft recessed lighting. The bathrooms are modern and clean. Staff members were friendly and extremely helpful. Requests for ice, extra towels, electrical converters, etc. were fulfilled within minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Possibly the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Breakfast - massive choice and delicious Bedrooms - Premier rooms are outstanding. Rooftop pool - gorgeous and well kept Location - great if you want to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre but close to The Metro station and also lots of places to east and drink round about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Definitely not a 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: The rooms should be brought up to a five star standard, at minimum.
Location: Be ready to walk.
Check in and check out was nice. The staff we encountered were all very helpful and nice. The hotel itself is definitely not a five star hotel. I'm not sure how Expedia has this rated as a five star and this was the only reason I chose this hotel. The room was nice but the walls have missing paint chips and stains. We were supposed to be there for 5 nights but checked out after the second night.