Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Fantastic location!!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Fantastic location just around the corner from the beautiful main square plaza mayor. Convenient for absolutely everything (except train station, would recommend getting a taxi from outside the train station for about €6.). Found another lovely square around the other corner (out hotel and turn right rather than left to plaza mayor). Very nice self serve bar selling amazingly cheap beer, wine and tapas. Nice hotel, nice room. Comfortable and clean. Helpful staff. Didn't use the pool but it looked perfectly useable. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hallandale, Florida

close to the train station.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: close to the old town
Cons: it is okay
Location: lot of things to see and do for the ones who love to live in the past romantic times
Very beautiful city, a combination of cultures. Ne things to discover, people, culture and many other things
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Everything was extremely good, except for the pool. It is not a swimming pool being the size of a hot tub...! Great for staying cool, impossible for swimming. Didn't have breakfast there. Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great location right on the Plaza Mayor!

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Location - room, comfort
Cons: more clarity on room services
The room was generous and comfortable and the location is great. We did have some difficulties with the room service. The menu in the room said it was open 1200p-1630p and 2000p-2300p. However, when we called down to use room service, on two occasions we were told it wasn't available. Then when I went down to the desk, they were able to order for me. Confusing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Quick trip to Salamanca

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: This hotel has a very good location and a very friendly, helpful staff.
Location: This hotel is located in the heart of Salamanca just one block from Plaza Mayor. There are a number of restaurants, bars and shops nearby.
We traveled to Salamanca from Madrid for a single-night stay. We selected Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca based an Expedia search for a hotel located near the city center. Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca is just one block from Plaza Mayor and just a few steps away from a number of restaurants and bars. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed with comfortable beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vivian from Los Angeles

Great location next to the Plaza Mayor

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi challenges with apple products.
Location: Near Plaza Mayor, the university, the cathedral, shopping
Wonderful accommodations next to the gorgeous Plaza Mayor. Walking distance to all the major sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly Central Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2008
Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location immediately behind the Plaza Major. Easy access by taxi from the railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA

Very impressed

Posted Jun 11, 2008
It is at the center of Salamanca right next to the Plaza Mayor. It allows you to admire the beauty of the Plaza at any time you like. One thing that the hotel can improve, the lobby is not smoke free. Thus, it is not very pleasant to go through it to get to the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Sunny, clean, quiet, great location, free breakfast

Posted May 21, 2007
This hotel is located a block from the Plaza Mayor, the heart of the historic city. My room faced a well between buildings which meant that I had fresh air and sunshine but no noise from the busy plaza or streets (though the view was rather dull). The rooms are modern with marble-tile floors (so no grungy ugly carpeting). Windows open and there is a air-conditioner/heat/fan control that is easy to use. The bathroom is modern and comfortable. A basic breakfast is offered daily and was included in the room rate for me, but not for other guests. Negatives are few: the in-room safe costs about $4/day extra and some staff were more helpful than others. Enjoyed my stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Madrid, Spain

Great local with a few clinks

Posted Apr 7, 2007
Can't beat the location. Very clean and modern. However, the temperature control in our room was on heat all the time so we had to keep the window open to cool off. This is 1st hotel I have stayed with a big window drape over a whole of a wall with a little side window at the end. We were out most of the time so it didn't bother us as much.