Ratings based on 933 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location, service
Nice hotel, very well located. Service was excellent, but I found the price to be too high when compared against previous stays at the same property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable hotel in a upmarket area

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, efficiency, location, professionalism of staff.
Cons: Coffee/tea facilities being provided in room.
Location: Excellent location. Metro nearby. Can walk to centre in 15 minutes - lots to look at on the way. Near Retiro park , which is well worth visiting.
We stayed at the Wellington for a week and had a very comfortable stay. Its location is very convenient for the Metro, for walking into the centre of Madrid. We enjoyed visiting Retiro park which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel . The hotel itself is very clean and beautifully maintained. The staff are very helpful and well trained. I would be happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Beautiful hotel in a very swank part of town

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Such a beautiful facility very well maintained with so much history.
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: This is a very upscale part of Madrid. Quiet. Close to all manner of transportation, parks, major museums, commercial districts.
The only downside of this hotel is that they don't have breakfast. Otherwise, I think the Duke of Wellington would have been very happy here. We certainly were. The hotel is in a very upscale part of Madrid but very close in. Short walk to Madrid's central park, slightly longer walk to the Prado and the more populous sections. The HopOn/HopOff bus route #1 stops right in front of the hotel. Found the staff to be very helpful. Don't miss the rooftop restaurant and bar. There are excellent restaurants blocks from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel located near city center and major p

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good experience. Hotel staff great. Hotel older but very well maintained and location very good. Prefer staying in more modern hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good if you get it as part of a fly stay deal

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very expensive once you get there. You can find pretty good breakfast for €10 outside versus €36 in the hotel per person Intoom purchases obscene-can of coke €6!! What makes it 5* is attention to detail I mistakenly put do not disturb instead of please clean sign on the door. So when we returned at 6pm it hadnt been cleaned. I took the sign down and accepted it was my fault and went out for the evening By tre time we came back the room had been cleaned without me asking - very impressed that they revisit what the customer status is. You wont get thst behaviour many places. Swimming pool is not great and appears more of an afterthought. Good quiet location close to Retira metro. Metro is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ont., canada

fabulous,great location , beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Elegant, clean , comfortable, good size room and big bed, lovely bathroom. Great location for walking, taking hop-hop off bus. Staff excellent.
Cons: Heat swimming pool. It is unusable even in 25 degree weather.
Location: Right across from Retiro Park (beautiful), close to museums and botanical gardens and city hall. Great restaurants in area.
Loved everything about hotel except lack of heated swimming pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is not only old but the staff are not good

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The staff are very slow and not service oriented. The rooms are old and our first room is all dusty. The breakfast hot section is not nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver.

Best area in Madrid.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Very nice albeit a little formal. Only negative is that the pool was way too cold to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Clean hotel with good facilities, very close to Retiro Park. Overall I had a very good stay and I would come back if I will travel again to Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A great hotel with lots of nice touches

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel decor, staff, the Executive Club.
Cons: Breakfast (see above)
Location: Location is nice (opposite some the beautiful Park Retiro) but a 25 min walk to many of the tourist districts. But still a lovely location.
This is a lovely hotel and has lots of 5 star qualities. The only things I felt that took away from this were: The breakfast; lovely buffet, especially all of the continental selection. However, the hot buffet (eggs, sausages and bacon etc.) needs an overhaul. The person in charge of eggs does not know how to cook scrambled eggs. Every were a wet, watery mess everyday. The hotel asks guests to respect formal attire in the breakfast room and the executive club but is inconsistent on this policy. We were told on day 1, no flip-flops at breakfast and we respected that after that. However, lots of other people were wearing the same and other non formal clothing (e.g muscle tops) But overall a great hotel (and the Executive Club is a great experience.