Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean hotel, with helpful staff.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this hotel as a stopover on the way south. Check-in was from 3pm, which was helpful for us. This was a typically French hotel, not a chain where all decor is the same! Restaurant had a roaring log fire and food was very good! Corridor lights had to be switched on as you came to them, and that was fine once you knew the location of switches. Room was lovely, overlooking front garden, bright and sunny. Very comfortable and good to have tea making facilities. Asked for milk and cups, rather than disposables provided, nothing was a problem! I practised my French, but kindly menus were printed off in English for me. Plenty of parking, and secure parking also available. If you are arriving after 9pm, hotel are happy to prepare a cold tray, if you pre-order. If you are looking for a French hotel, rather than a chain budget, this is for you. Easy to find, we will use it again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Restful night and very handy for getting off next

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet hotel with impressive facade but fairly ordinary rooms and corridors. Unpretentious but good value for money. Good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples florida

Great hotel - gps needs to catch up

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: Elevator required.
Great experience. despite a later than planned arrival the staff were very welcoming. Rooms were clean and well equiped and comfortable. Needs. A elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good overnight stop

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Good overnight stop on way to Spain. Took room only and used one of the many restaurants in town for dinner. Hotel description said ' detached bathroom ' which inferred not part of bedroom. It was in fact en suite, so this needs amending .
5 out of 5
by jean m from Gerrards Cross

Great stop off, in super location.

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect good value hotel. Superb location especially for dogs. Very good food with good wine list. Will stop here again. The rooms was very good and wifi worked superbly.
3 out of 5
by peter from Cornwall - UK

Good outside approach.Inside disappointing.

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Nothing in particular except the outside appearance and grounds
Cons: Redecoration Restaurant
Location: N/A -Short stay
Decore tired. Restaurant average Rate not more than 2 cocottes Beds comfortable Overall grading hardly more than 2 cheminees
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels
A well placed hotel, very quiet, clean and pleasant, great breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal Stopover en-route to Spain

Posted Feb 16, 2012 on Hotels
About half-way from Calais to NE Spain this hotel has everything you need for a good night and early start. A very good restaurant/bar, excellent breakfast, free WIFI and very friendly staff. In case you arrive in the afternoon, be warned that the hotel does not open until 1600 in the winter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaga

Could be a WOW , but.............................

Posted Aug 31, 2010
The hotel is set in a very nice park-type environment as the name suggests, and was a relatively easy reach from the ferry crossing to Dunkerque. The building is very attractive as were the downstairs public and dining rooms. Our room on the first floor was spacious and clean although we were a bit disconcerted to find only net curtains for the windows. Unlikely that we could be overlooked, but we would have preferred to be able to draw blinds or more substantial curtains at night. The big disappointment however, was in the food. It is expensive and simply not up to standard. My husband had a salmon steak which could have been bounced off the floor, it was so tough. Basic menu starts at 25E per person. I chose to have cheese rather than dessert, and that was 28E for me! The aforementioned cheese was cut so thinly, it was literally transparent and they forgot to bring my husband's dessert for 15 minutes after I had my cheese, and it was burned when it arrived. Other menus were listed at approx. 35E and 45E per person. A bottle of fizzy water was 5.50E. We did not expect cheap food by any means, but if you are going to charge those prices, food has to be decently prepared. During hat meal, we heard another two arguments between clients and serving staff going on in the dining room, so we were far from being an isolated case. This place has tons of potential and the best thing 'Mein Host' who was very gracious) can do for himself is get new chefs!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels