Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient but loud

Posted Sep 30, 2017
My first impression was I liked the bears. I was surprised that everything was separate meaning the lobby and the breakfast and rooms were all separate. Not a bad thing I was just surprised. When i booked the room I didn't realize it was so close to the freeway and busy road. Staff was friendly. I did have concerns about people hanging out behind the vehicles. When I left it had looked like people had a good party between my truck and the vehicle a space over. There was food containers left and strung out. Made me a little nervous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Keep looking

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Very old hotel in desperate need of remodeling. See attached photos. ( This site is only allowing me to post 5 of the 10 photos I wanted to share )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We were given a room with special facilities ( ie. handicap room) when it was not requested. The shower floor was disgusting. The carpeting in the bedroom was dirty and the floors squeaked when we walked on it. Our room was situated outside the ice machine as well which made loud noises. Overall it was a disappointing hotel experience. I will not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Electrical problems

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Checked in around 10:30 pm and most of the Lights, outlets, refrigerator and microwave didn't work. Called office and was told to unplug refrig and microwave because it's causing a problem and that I could not use them. They knew about this before giving me the room. The manager apparently reset the fuse and got the lights and outlets working. My question is why did they rent me this room if they knew it had problems. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

An adequate place to stay next to the Interstate

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: It had everything we needed at a reasonable price.
Cons: Better attention to detail. The addition of an elevator.
Location: The motel includes a swimming pool and tennis court, which might be popular for traveling families. There is plenty to see and do in Oregon.
We got a good night's rest and enjoyed the included breakfast, which featured waffles and sausages. The facilities are somewhat dated (e.g. The towel rack was bent, the bathroom light flickered when first turned on). The room was plenty big enough for a larger bed, or two - the queen was a little small. Granted there were only two stories, but an elevator would have been nice (my wife has a bad leg). But overall it was reasonabley priced and an OK place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salem, oregon

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Loved the pool, hot tub, room was great had microwave, flat screen tv, the breakfast was good lots to choose from
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Unfortunate Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: New TV in the room and AC unit that worked well.
Cons: The rooms need to be upgraded with new carpets, beds, and blankets. The breakfast needs more hot items. Pool water to be cleaned.
My kids and I stayed at the Black Bear Days Inn in Salem for one night to attend the state fair. While the staff was friendly and helpful, I was totally disappointed with this motel. Besides the TV, the room had not been updated in years. There was stained carpets, dirt in the corners, and dust on the shelf. We went swimming and the pool water did not seem clean and some other kid had vomited on the pool deck, which I called in to be cleaned...not sure if it had gotten into the water....yuck. There were alot of construction workers at the hotel for short term stays which was not a family friendly atmosphere. Behind the hotel is an empty lot with overgrown weeds and trash. And to top it off, the front desk told me not to have my kids use the playground onsite as it had broken and stolen pieces of equipment that made it unsafe. Great, I thought, who would want to steal playground equipment?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eatonville, WA

Everything I want in a motel and at a fair price.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
There's a list I keep in my head of what I hope a motel will have:cleanliness; pool; hot tub; good breakfast(not just bread); lots of tv channel options; comfortable bed. This place had all that and generally cost under $100. We splurged for the suite with king bed and in-room spa tub which was a bit more, but worth it. There's lots of options in the Salem area, but for the price, this is the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Room cleanlyness
Cons: Better breakfast options
Very clean, updated , and comfortable room. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This motel was right off of Interstate 5 and close to access to restaurants, shopping needs (Fred Meyers), and gas.