Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, Connecticut

Great Hotel at reasonable rates.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Staff was A+, room was clean and comfortable, very clean with amenities.
Location: Tons of stuff to do and plenty of great places to eat and drink.
We stayed here this past week (July 25th) for a night. Although we did not spend a whole lot of time in our room, it was very clean and comfortable. The bed was a little bit uncomfortable for me but not horrible. The staff was very pleasent and accommodating. There is a full bar off the lobby which is a bonus (spent a bit of time there after a day of tours.).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in charming Salem

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Friendly and helpful service. Charming hotel with some history in central Salem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Salem attractions

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Room was clean and spacious. They upgraded our room to 2 full baths without even asking. Staff was very polite and helpful. Overall a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was OK, but needs remodeled.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the history and the age of the hotel
Cons: needs to improve the air conditioner and update the bathroom with nicer materials instead of the cheap plastic shower that was in our room.
The Hotel overall was OK, I'm glad we stayed here but I would not go back. The rooms needs remodeled, Our shower was made of cheap plastic you would get from a discounted hardware store. It seamed they cut corners and used cheap materials on the remodel. Plus the Air Conditioner did not really work, we turned it down to 65 and the lowest the room temp when down to was 75, plus the room was extremely humid. The lobby was nice and the staff was friendly. If staying in Salem I would suggest this hotel but I would not stay more than 2 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Really neat, perfectly located hotel. Short walk to all the sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Not for me...

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom cleaning/remodeling
I stayed here for 1 night while in the process of dropping my son off at sleep away camp. The people at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. However, my room was very seedy and run down. My view was a fire escape. I felt like I was in tenement building. The bathroom had a minuscule toilet and sink area that needed a good cleaning from top to bottom. The most alarming part was the shower area in what looked like a former closet--it had wall to wall carpeting, even right next to the shower! The carpet was damp and became soaked after the 2 of us showered, even with the bath mat/towel down. I can only imagine what is growing underneath. I was so grossed out that I would not let my feet touch the floor and couldn't wait to check out. Please tile your shower areas ASAP! It wasn't cheap, either!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Salem Location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location and easy parking
Location: in the middle of the main attractions and close to restaurants
Historic hotel in the best location. We walked everywhere we wanted to and it was perfect for a one night stay in Salem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Faded Glory

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location and historical feel
Cons: Room needed more than just a slap of paint last redecoration.
Great location, stylish reception area...room a bit tired looking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel de caractère avec de l'atmosphère.

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Bar amical ou on peut manger
Cons: Système de climatisation
Location: En plein dans l'action, tout est à portée de marche
Bien aimé les petites attentions: bouteilles d'eau, café, limonade
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
It was a beautiful old hotel with a lot of American history tied to it.