Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great historic hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It was all good a great experience
Cons: Front desk was great but i signed an agreement that alcohol os not allowed to be brought into the hotel... seriously???
Location: Stickworks was a ross the street the witch museum was a few mins away... lots of bars and places to eat in the area.
Cool hotel... room was huge. Close to lots of attractions. I would go back there if i was in the area. Hotel bar was nice and got to try some great tasting drinks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from watert

Salem stay for the night

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Beautiful interior decorating and classic antique appeal. Clean, convenient, and visually stunning. Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester ny

Great location but lacks space

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I loved the location of the hotel, but the room itself was TINY sand the amount they charge was alittle too much. But all in all I would go back and definitely ask for a bigger room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TLV

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We came from a 10 days vacation from up north. on the way back to NY stopped for one night. The hotel is great. because we came for a good night sleep. The beds are great. the location for a dinner out is excellent. We had a great time there
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old historic hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Mostly the staff. Hotel was quiet and nice location.
Cons: bathroom,
The stay was quite nice. The staff was exceptional. My biggest concern was with the bathroom. Its size was very small and I would say inadequate. This is not a hotel for families as there is no pool on the premises but you can use the YMCA if you like which is 4 blocks away but who wants to do that with kids. Also, the bathroom only had a shower which had a shower curtain which was too short. Taking a quick shower left the floor soaked with water running under the door and into the room which soaked a small area of the carpet. Also, the room lacked a refrigerator but they were happy to bring one to the room. Aside from these items: bathroom, no pool, shower curtain too short, and no refrigerator we had a nice stay. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very quite. I also want to add that because the bathroom floor got flooded we had to use every towel to dry the floor. This required us to run to the lobby for extra towels. Quite inconvenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Hawthorne Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location, Haunted History
Cons: The only real complaint is that the bed was really hard.
We loved our stay at the Hawthorne Hotel. The service was top notch and the staff was very accomodating. That being said it is an older hotel. The rooms are small but quaint. The only complaint I have is that bed was a bit on the harder side and the a/c wasn't great. We had read that before we went so we came prepared with our own fan. They also loan out box fans on a first come first serve basis at Guest Service. Unfortunately, I don't think any of Boston understands a/c as we were greatful for our fan at both of our upscale Boston Hotels as well so I don't really fault Hawthorne for the a/c thing. The hotel is located right in the center of everything and we had no problems getting around. I would definately consider staying at the Hawthorne again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice but small room

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Very clean, great staff but for the expensive price our room was VERY small, no frig in room. Met a couple who bought a bottle of wine from home for room. They wouldn't even give them an opener bc it came from outside. Seriously?? Overall nice place but our room was really really small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to EVERYTHING!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Very nice hotel of historic nature. Bathroom was a little bit smaller than usual, but defiantly a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County

In the middle of everything

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The hotel is very nice. We were upgraded to a suite because Expedia had overbooked. That was awesome. Walkable to everything. Not the best biking town, too much traffic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An excellent Hotel with a ton of it's history!!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We enjoyed our stay in the Hawthorne! Ideal location, clean rooms and some of the best food in Salem!! Would highly recommend!!