Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will Return

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I had a fantastic stay. The hotel staff was uber friendly. Everything was clean, and I even received a free upgrade! I'll definitely stay there again. I had to use a taxi service to get there from a work location during the day, but even that was fairly cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Timeless elegance

Posted Jan 18, 2016
This hotel and its room transports you to a time when luxury meant beautiful details and perfect service. People often confuse luxury with square footage size. While the room isn't large size wise it can most definitely be described as grand. I loved the bookshelves outside the elevator along with the in the wall mailslot to send correspondance and post cards. Overall a beautiful hotel, with an attentive, friendly staff that will keep patrons coming back for more. Well done !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great nights stay

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Great character and comfortable.
Cons: I missed not having a coffee maker in the room and the water in the shower did not drain well.
Location: Nice and close to walk to shops and restaurants
I enjoyed my stay. Had a nice breakfast in the restaurant and then was able to sit in the beautiful lobby and do some work before heading out to do some sightseeing and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Quaint historical hotel with lots of charm

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: The charm and historic architectural elements- very friendly staff too!
Cons: The restaurant could stay open a little later
Location: Great location, so close to interesting and beautiful museums such as the Peabody Essex Museum (highly recommended), lots of cute shops too.
My stay was very short, but really lovely. The hotel is gorgeous with all of the historic charm that I expected from Salem. It was also really conveniently located (about 2 min walk) to all of the museums and other sites in the historic district. The area is just beautiful. Sadly, did not make it to the Witch Museum, but the Peabody Essex was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

Perfect location nice hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Overall great stay. Close to everything. Hotel is super nice has lots of charm, restaurant has a good menu and food delicious and great serving staff. Front desk very helpful. Room was very small but was very clean and had enough room for what we needed it for. Would definitely recommend it to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 16, 2015
This hotel was wonderful! Upon check in we were upgraded to a bigger room for no charge. We were also randomly selected as the hotel "VIP" of the day- which included a gift certificate for the hotel restaurant as well as free tickets for a local museum. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The two restaurants in the hotel had a good selection of food and the parking was free. We felt safe staying in this neighborhood- close to many attractions in Salem. We drove into Boston one day of our visit- it was about 20 miles but took us about an hour to get there with traffic. Overall, great experience! Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect Location when visiting Salem

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Centrally located in Salem, walking distance to most places. Beautiful hotel! Staff was outstanding from the minute we walked in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant luxurious and smart in the heart of Salem

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: From its elegance and its excellent service to its most central of locations for the cultural musts, it is a charm for the Salem traveler of taste.
Cons: Not much of anything need be improved. It is a world-class hotel with accommodations and such enough to do its own boasting, should there be any need.
Location: Adjacent to a beautiful park, the Salem Common, weddings at its gazebo; near the Charter St Historic Dist., Peabody Essex Museum, House Seven Gables.
The Hawthorne is an historic grand hotel centrally located on the fashionable and trendy north shore of Salem MA, building faithfully preserved in part by the National Trust. Short walk on Hawthorne Blvd takes you to the majestic bronze Nathanial Hawthorne statue, sculpted in 1916 by Bela Lyon Pratt. Beautiful lobby with fresh green plant and flower arrangements regularly lodged; sufficiently spacious chandeliered grand ballroom for events, cozy bright-wood-lit tavern for mixing, efficient restaurant for dining; between the elevators is situated an active antique gold US Mail chute with letter boxes for every floor, potpourri-wafted elevators. Client-controlled temperature gauge in-room. Medium-sized light-dimmer switch chandelier in room’s center matches chandeliers lining period-piece hallway. Room had a therapeutically solid bed, large dark wooden headboard matches armoire which held the television and clothes drawers, beside which, again matching, is a desk and comfy chair at which to work, lit by double lamps on whose pedestal are inlets for devices; WiFi operative and dependable. Designer nightstand with three levels on which to place travel items. Lovely striped drapery and valence arrangements, with translucent gauze curtains for all windows, including that in the shower that lets the sun shine in on you. Healthful sunlight in double window room. Bathroom has the whitest and softest of towels; Pharmacopia-brand body wash lotion shampoo and conditioner highest quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scituate, MA

great hotel. Close to everything

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: It was close to everything.
Location: Museum was very interesting and close
The hotel staff was great, especially the Tavern waiters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great hotel, great staff, great location.

Posted Nov 12, 2015
We had a very pleasant experience at The Hawthorne. The staff was very friendly, and told us about some of the local restaurant and shops that we had to check out. The one staff member even asked if we wanted a complimentary fridge brought to out room when he saw we had food with us. Just an overall great experience with this hotel and would definitely go again.