Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, old building

Posted May 16, 2017
Although we thought the staff of the hotel was great, the rooms were incredibly noisy with paper thin walls. We were unable to have a restful night sleep. David at the front desk took care of us but after spending the night we were exausted at the end of the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Anniversary Getaway

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and staff
Location: Centrally located, and walking distance to all attractions and food.
My husband and I traveled to Salem for our 25th anniversary, and decided on the Hawthorne for our stay. The hotel is beautiful and close walking distance from all attractions and restaurants. One staff member at the desk in particular, Angela, was exceptional in her services! She told us how and where to get the train to Boston, where great places were to eat, and surprised us with Champagne in our room when we got back from dinner on our anniversary night along with a lovely card. I cannot express enough how helpful and sweet she was to us during our stay. If one day we return to Salem I'm sure we will be staying at the Hawthorne again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Dowager.....

Posted May 1, 2017
Probably the best choice in Salem. Conveniently located but room was very small out dated. Booming disco lounge noise easily reached 4th floor. Had to stuff a towel under bathrm door to block noise coming up central vent shaft at midnight. C- value and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to witch museum.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very nice historic hotel. Food is good in hotel and is within walking distance to everthing in Salem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewisburg, PA

Great Location and Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, New York Times at half price.
Cons: There is no way, without gutting the hotel, to increase the floor space in a room.
Location: House of 7 Gables, Peabody-Essex Museum, Jonathan Corwin house, Salem Common, Pickering Wharf, lots of interesting places to have a bite to eat.
The room was tiny, but that was a small price to pay for being within easy walking distance of everything I wanted to see in Salem. The Salem Common, on one side of the hotel, is a great place to relax and people-watch when you have some leisure time. The staff were easily the most knowledgeable and gracious I have ever encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middletown, CT

Nice historic hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The historic character
Cons: The room got a little warm and had limited control of the temp
Location: Good central location with convenient access to all Salem attractions and routes north.
Historic hotel with lots of character but with plenty of modern conveniences and comforts. Our room was spacious and had pleasing views of the Salem common. We were sad to leave, it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The hotel was clean, well Kept it still had an old classic feel to it. And two great restaurants to eat at in the hotel, and nearby many great tourist stops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nothing but excellent!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I stayed here last year, and recently was asked by a friend to help book them a trip to Salem. My first choice is Hawthorne Hotel. Excellent location. My friend and I were able to walk to every attraction we wanted to experience! Close to restaurants, too. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Parking was easy. Room was small, but comfortable. Hotel bar was a great addition. Staff was friendly, and food was good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Haven, CT

Loved this hotel!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This is among my favorite stays in Salem. The hotel is gorgeous the staff is friendly and there are two kid friendly restaurants on premises which were wonderful and reasonably priced. The one small problem was our bathroom was the size of a closet. The sink and toilet were kind of smooshed in there but the shower was big. Overall myself and my six year old enjoyed it immensely and will be booking again.
5 out of 5
by Efrain

Hawthorne Vintage

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great place convenient location... middle of Salem very clean and confy ... restaurant food good if you dont want to go out... staff very pleasant