Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need to work on lighting.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Lighting was bad everywhere. Dim in the bathroom, garishly bright ceiling lights in sitting area. A lighting designer working over the whole hotel would be a smart move.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Easy walking distance to Oregon Capitol

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Staff are friendly, the room is very nice and clean. Bentleys has great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond, OR

Comfortable and quiet

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We've stayed here twice now while in town visiting family. The lobby is impressive. The hotel is newer, but it sits on an historic site and was designed to fit in with the old historic buildings in downtown Salem. Our room's view was lame, but I wasn't looking for a view anyway. I'm sure there are rooms with some nice views. The staff is very friendly, and the beds are comfy. The room was in good condition and clean. Last time we had the hotel restaurant (Bentley's) deliver dinner to our room and it was delicious and not super expensive either. I love downtown Salem, and there are a lot of restaurants and stores within walking distance. The park is nice to visit in warm weather. Our free breakfast buffet was also pretty good (considering it's complimentary). We'll probably stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett

Nice service

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel, everything is close. Parking is right downstairs, didn't have to walk 10 miles to get to the parking lot like other big hotels.
Super nice staff. Loaned me a corkscrew, gave me another key when I lost mine, didn't make me feel guilty about losing it. Helped me out when I couldn't find my id to check in by asking me security questions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
This is a really nice hotel The staff is superb. The work desk in the room was the best that I have seen. Very clean and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China, PRC

Nice Place To Stay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, this is an excellent hotel. We highly recommend The Grand Hotel in Salem Oregon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Salem

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: We liked that our hotel room had a living space that was separate from the living room as enabled my wife to study for exams without disturbing us.
Cons: The fan in the bathroom did not work.
Location: The hotel was very close to the capitol building.
The hotel is conveniently located in downtown state Capitol Salem. It is also very convenient that it has the restaurant and inside the building. We were very pleased when we went down for dinner to the restaurant and ordered dinner for our twin daughters to be brought up to our room. Our dinner was delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting Salem

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Within walking distance to great theaters and resturants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Salem Convention Center events.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We had an event at the Salem Convention Center. The Grand Hotel is connected to it so we stayed there. No driving or walking in the rain required.