Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Centennial, CO

Historic building, but few comforts

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The location was good for tourist attractions. They made fresh omelets for breakfast.
Cons: I don't suppose it's possible to put in elevators in these old buildings, but it would have been nice. A refrigerator in the room could be added.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The witch museum and tourist area are a few miles away.
We stayed at six motels on our New England trip, and all were overpriced and only fair for comfort. This hotel was no exception. I did appreciate the historical significance of the building we stayed in. Our building, the Curwen House, was built in 1886. But keep in mind that there are no elevators, and we were put on the third floor. Since we are seniors, this was difficult for us. The rooms were made pretty comfortable, but because the rooms were not designed for motel rooms, it was oddly shaped. The TV had cable, but was off to the side so couldn't be watched well from bed. The bathroom had no place to put your things. But the neighborhood was nice, and the free breakfast was much better than usual. However, you did need to walk to a different building to have it. They provided free cheese and wine at 4pm, but we did not partake so can't say how good it was. The beds were fairly comfortable. The price of this room was very high for what you got, but there didn't seem to be many options in Salem, so they can get it.
5 out of 5
by Dominic

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was fine. Seemed clean. Having a fireplace with complimentary firewood was the best part. Bathroom didn't have mini shampoos like the inns and BNBs we usually stay at, so bring your own. Overall no complaints if not exactly the most luxurious place we stayed at but the price was right. the location was pretty terrifically and what made this lodging worth it. Was a ten minute walk (less if you're a quick walker) to all the museums, shopping and tours we wanted to attend. Really great if you're pooped after a day of running around and don't want to have to drive back to the other side of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
It's part of a duplex down the street from the actual inn. It did have an outside entrance door right in the room and a door that lead into a common living room. There is no staff on site. The room was smaller than it looks online. Big nice bathroom. And a delicious night cap port is left out in the common area for guests. in the morning the power kept tripping on and off. Over all it was a decent place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Old, charming, and rickety.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
We stayed in the West House and it was absolutely gorgeous outside and in. When I booked the family suite on the 4th floor someone was nice enough to call and let me know there were no elevators which I appreciated. The stairs are VERY steep and the railing isn't very sturdy which made the trips up and down quite an experience but with the age of the location it's expected. The family suite felt like I was visiting an elderly relatives home but it was very clean, warm, and open and we enjoyed it very much. Check in and check out took about 10 minutes total and was wonderful. Over all I'd love to stay again just maybe not up on the top floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at The Salem inn

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
The walls are thin, so don't laugh or talk too loud I heard conversations from other rooms , the floor creaks really bad around the bed. Make sure you have the tag for privacy when you leave the room they will walk in without notice and clean. The parking is absolutely horrible I had to park my car at the Curwen House B&B. They breakfast is good thank goodness. Would I stay next time? I would not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historic hotel close to attractions

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: location and breakfast
Cons: The rooms could be updated and things like a gouge in the wall fixed. A little pricey.
Location: very near witch house and downtown.
The hotel was in a convenient location to walk around Salem. It was comfortable but a bit shabby. The continental breakfast was very substantial and was run by a very personable lady.
3 out of 5
by Carol from Virginia

Spring Break in Salem

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Salem Inn is in a great location and easy to get to shops and restaurants. The front desk staff is accommodating and the breakfast lady was very nice. The Inn is undergoing some major renovations at this time. Our house (there are three of them in a row on Summer Street) still had painting and decorating underway when we arrived. The family suite is quaint and newly updated; however, the beds are really, really hard, and they are missing some amenities, such as something like a large area rug to stifle the creaky floors, some additional lamps/lighting, and maybe even a second tv for the bedroom. On the plus side, everything is newly painted, the bathroom is beautifully updated, and the furnishings go with the ambiance of the house. The parking lot out back is adequate and the free breakfast is nice. Worth the price.
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Swarthmore

You should stay here

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Totally awesome in every way. Staff was friendly and helpful, delicious breakfast included, and a fireplace in our room. House was a historic house.
4 out of 5
by Kathy from Maine

salem inn off season...awesome!

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast staff was very cheerful and delightful. Lovely accommodations nice and quiet right in the thick of sightseeing places.