Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Historic and charming, great location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Cons: Television apparatus, Xfinity service was sometimes spotty.
I loved the character and charm of this old home. My room was spacious and comfortable. The Inn was very quiet when I was there. Never heard any other guests in the hall or entry. Breakfast was much more than just continental breakfast, with fresh fruit and custom omelets in addition to cinnamon rolls, bagels, toast, and cereal. Deanne who served the breakfast was very friendly and accommodating. My TV didn't work very well, it was tricky to get the TV and the attached box to both turn on together. My room was a bit chilly in the evenings, but I was able to turn up the heat with the remote control for the unit and use an extra blanket from the closet. The Inn is in a fabulous location, just around the corner from Essex Street with its many specialty shops and cafes. I was able to walk to many local attractions. I plan to stay at the Salem Inn again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The inn was great. We stayed in the Peabody House which is a cute historic house. My only advice is don't light the Duraflame log in the fireplace, I think our room was a little to small to have it burning in there for hours. The free breakfast has coffee, oj, bagels, omelettes and other goodies which was great, and there is free Sherry in the front room of the house!
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Emily Anne

Walkable

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Helpful staff, great room and you can walk everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Convenient to Salem attractions
Cons: Upgrade sheets......wine and cheese afternoon event
Location: Peabody Essex Museum, shops and restaurants
Charming room....need to upgrade the sheets.....wine & cheese cancelled....excellent breakfast....outstanding, accommodating staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and very convenient

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great historical building updated to current use. Walking distance to many things. Great place I would stay at again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Parking was the only problem. The night I arrived, there was absolutely no parking on the street or the lot I was directed to. This was a problem for me because I am handicapped and can not walk for long periods of time. I had to keep circling around town until I found a space, many blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Excellent rooms and great breakfast with Deanne and her daughter in the mornings! The room was comfortable and quiet for our family of five. You can easily walk to almost all Salem has to offer! Can't wait to come back.
4 out of 5
by audrey from Morristown

Enchanted by Salem and the Inn..

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect hotel to getaway from a big box establishment. A guesthouse feel in a colonial style home nicely preserved and appointed. Friendly staff who were happy help with directions and suggestions. Breakfast was great with made to order omelettes and an array of other offerings--perfect start to the day. Salem is an amazing enclave steeped in early colonial history well preserved and cherished, but with a now hip and progressive population blending new into the old--we loved it.