Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Reno, NV

Decided to stay elsewhere

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: Price was exceptionally low.
Cons: Room decor needs to be updated, bathrooms need to be remodeled, pool needs to be open for swimming.
Location: It is in a great location for seeing the government buildings in Salem.
I think we'll give this place another try in a year or so because the owners are trying hard to make improvements. We took a look at the room before checking in and decided to stay elsewhere. The furniture and carpets and drapes are old looking, bathroom is small, pool was closed even though the weather was in the high 70s to low 80s. Flower beds are being planted with lovely roses, the staff seemed friendly to guests (though they were having an argument with each other when we arrived). If they continue to improve the outside and start renovating the rooms, it will be worth checking out again.
5 out of 5
by Jan from Portland, Oregon

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels
The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk clerk was helpful when I asked for a wake-up call & the location of a grocery store. I would stay at this motel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

my service

Posted Apr 7, 2013
The management wasn't very present, and was confused when my group arrived as to how many/which rooms we had reserved, even though we had booked them weeks in advance.
1 out of 5
by George from Monterey

Worst hotel ever

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
It was an awful experience. Rude staff; broken, burned and dirty sheets; horrible breakfast. It was "jail-type" monitored. Neighborhood is not too bad, but the hotel is the worst I have ever been. I really regret have been there. Please, never go to this place, if you do not have a place to stay, better keep in the car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa

DON'T STAY HERE

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels
Even though I booked ahead of time through hotels.com and sent a request for the top floor weeks ahead of time I was told they didn't have any available and I had to pay another $12.00 to be up stairs. We even checked in 2 hours early to make sure we could get upstairs and there were only 2 cars in the parking lot. When I asked the older desk guy about it the next day he wouldn't even look me in the eye. The room was not dirty and the bathroom was alright but the walls were paper thin. You could here the people next door cough and a constant slamming of doors till 2:45am. Then there is the train who's horn WILL wake you up from a dead sleep every hour. The mattress was uncomfortable and made a cruncy noise like it had a plastic cover on it. Turns out with the $12.00 addition we could have stayed at the Red Lion for the same price and I would have had I not booked through hotels.com and already paid my money. I've never had a bait & switch like this happen anywhere I've ever stayed and I'm 53 years old and have stayed in quite a few places. I will never stay in another Travel Lodge or recommend them. Trust me, spend the extra $10-20 and stay in a real hotel.
1 out of 5
by Lamar Jackson

Family visit

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Orbitz
Hotel was very very dirty. The room actually smelled. I wanted good value but not at the risk of infection. I honestly was very dissatisfied. The person that helped me book recommended this motel - very poor choice (although he was very helpful and patient and gave excellent customer service) the choice was simply terrible.
2 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels
Great location hot-water Need some upkeep like replacing Outlets The only one my charger worked in was the Bathroom Outlet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels
It served its purpose. The room was adequate and there was an barbecue restaurant with a good beer selection down the street.
4 out of 5
by mr.chefaustin

wow manager complains to much

Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels
not to friendly if you have kids, manager lady very rude! need to work on customer service skills, complained about my kids being kids, and asking for anything other than toilet paper is a problem, even throwing garbage in the garbage can was a problem for that manager lady that didn't even tell us her name.