Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel is undergoing renovations!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Add English TV channels, install AC, put carpets in the hallways, repair the save in the room(s), offer softer pillows.
Was one of the worst hotels I stayed in. The hotel was undergoing renovations but did not advertise it online. No carpets in the hallways, light fixtures hanging out of the walls, etc. The hotel could not refund me, because the booking was made through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Oct 17, 2016
We had a beautiful stay at the grande alberge. The setting was so amazing. Beautiful property and pool area. The food was so delicious and the staff was very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Room with a view

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The location, the view, the staff.
Location: It is on a promenade along the sea and also near the historic quarter.
This is an old hotel, a little shabby but in the midst of renovation, in a stellar location facing the water, with cafes and restaurants nearby. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel, just about 4 star

Posted Sep 29, 2016
For the price we paid (£50/night) it was worth it. On the waterfront, close to bars, restaurants, Old Town, Corso Garibaldi etc. The hotel is a little tired and could do with a revamp which they seem to be doing at the moment. The hotel staff were all very helpful, and breakfast had a good variety of options. Parking is a slight problem: the hotel has a private garage but charges 13euros per night, otherwise you can park on the road. However there are parking restrictions on where you can park and it is not so easy to work out from the signs! Also the hotel is in a restricted traffic zone of the Old Town which means it is not so easy to drive up to the entrance. You can do so by driving through the pedestrian zone, but you must tell the reception staff, otherwise you will get a fine in the post upto 1 year later! Overall we enjoyed our stay esp for the price and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The hotel was undergoing major renovations. And although none of the renovations affected our personal arrangements except for a limited reception area, it would have been good to know about the renovations in advance. Nevertheless, the location was perfect, just overlooking the port of Brindisi. We were delighted with our room which faced the sea and the seafront promenade. The bathroom had modern and very clean facilities. The staff was excellent. When I had a problem securing a reliable internet connection, the front desk reset the connection and all was well. When we notified them of an early checkout (4:30 am) and that we would be requiring a taxi to the airport, the staff immediately arranged for an early pick-up to the airport, and the taxi came at the requested time. The front desk was also helpful in recommending convenient and good places to eat. All in all, it was a delightful experience. And as I stated before, the location could not be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming hotel with exceptional location and view

Posted Aug 1, 2016
we stayed for one night at the end of a two week holiday, one last evening before an early flight home. i had no idea that Brindisi is so beautiful and this hotel couldn't have been better placed. wonderful views of the sea -we stepped outside to cafes, bars, restaurants and stroll along the waters edge, squeezing the last minutes of pleasure out of our holiday. the icing was watching the sun rise and the port coming slowly to life as we did our final pack and watching the water front as we breakfasted in a grand dining hall. the dining and reception staff were very helpful. the hotel is being renovated - we heard nothing and were very pleased with the 'faded charm' of our room. definitely on my list for a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely, elegant hotel in Brindisi

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Everything - great room, friendly and helpful staff, very nice breakfasts
Cons: Wi-Fi reception was a bit weak.
Location: Fantastic location on the waterside with any number of very nice restaurants really close by and others a short walk away in the old town.
Grand Albergo Internazionale is wonderfully situated on the harbour front in Brindisi. It is a glorious old hotel, stylish and elegant, and in process of restoration that will add further to its charms. We had a splendid first-floor room with great views of the harbour. It was large, beautifully furnished, and had excellent bathroom facilities. The front desk personnel were always very helpful. An excellent buffet breakfast was part of the deal. I cannot recommend this hotel too strongly. We stayed seven nights and wished it could have been longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A Grand Hotel of Italy

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The dining room as absolutely modern, very clean and sparkly, with views over the harbour, good breakfast and good coffee.
Location: Best Hotel location in Brindisi
This Hotel is a somewhat faded great Hotel, but this adds to the charm. Other reviews talk about worn carpets etc., but this is not like some chain hotel that hasn't been decorated for a few years - the faded carpets are probably from the 1930's. The King of Italy stayed here, and I imagine Mussolini would have paid a visit. If you like modern boutique hotels, you might not like this, but if you like a little history, class and style it is great. Also, the bathroom in my room was very up to date (refurbished, chic), same with the dining room. So good blend of old and new. The Hotel is undoubtedly the best positioned in Brindisi, and the best proportioned. It sits on the promenade overlooking the harbour. I got a boat to work in the morning! I was greatly impressed by the Hotel not charging me for the first night (I was booked in but my flight was late and I got stuck in Rome with no connecting flight), without me asking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great view of the water

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Only one night but enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff very helpful with print out of boarding passes for my early morning flight...even had coffee available to me in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the harbor in the center of th

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: It is in the heart of the old section of the city, right on the harbor. Close to good restaurants.
Cons: Nothing as far as we are concerned.
It was a good hotel with a good breakfast and friendly reception.