Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely located

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Does not look very grand as you approach the hotel from the outside, but it is very adequate. Popular with the locals judging by the number of conferences and weddings, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convention Center

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
We went from Rome on the train to Salerno to take a ferry to Positano on the Amalfi Coast for 3 days then went back to Salerno to stay 2 days at the Grand Hotel to go back to Naples. It was a stopping off point for us. Also the train station was only a 10 minute walk. The hotel was away from the busy traffic which was worth staying.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
overpriced poor service compared to residence and airbnb accomodations. light switches don't work logically, ac out of order, heater was own, they did not provide lotions and other basic toiletries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

One day a good Hotel now needs renovation

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
it was an average hotel. location was good 7 minute walk from train station. breakfast was great . lots of choices and fresh croissants. my room was standard so no view of the sea. if your air condition stops after 15 minutes just call the reception they will fix it . Mine was manually adjusted to stop at 24 degrees. the didn't charge me for the minibar which was good . overall OK for one night stay I would say. the photos doesn't Match the real rooms.
1 out of 5
by Susan from Serious traveller on European adventure

Avoid this one

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
i have nothing good to say about this hotel - the location is terrible although it overlooks the ocean, the rooms are large but so old and dated, the breakfast is shocking and service terrible - wifi doesn't work in the rooms only in the main lobby and certain sections and if you ask the unfriendly reception staff they try telling you the deal is wifi - not in rooms but as a lawyer i advised them not the case - not impressed at all - should have spent the extra $$$ and gone to Amalfi, Positano or Sorrento to be in the hub of it as Salerno has little to offer anyways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent value close to beach and transport

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Everything. Like Salerno and this solid unpretentious hotel is emblematic of it
Cons: shower enclosure needed to be cleaned better--some mildew. Everything else was clean as a whistle
Location: 500 m. from train station, across the street from beach and seawalk 1500 m. to Old City small supermarket in rear parking lot hugely useful
Just enjoyed immensely the flexibility this hotel gave me. Big clean modern room Excellent breakfast helpful staff--allowed me to leave my bag in room before it was cleaned and before it was check in time which I greatly appreciated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

AC Gave Off Cigarette Smell

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: AC, decor
Location: Salerno shopping is a bit far, but there is a beach right in front of you
The AC not only was not working properly in cooling (stayed put at 27C) but also gave off a smell of cigarettes. The front desk kept assuring us that this would fix itself, but nada. Don't stay at this outdated hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida tourist area

Nothing to do

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The View
Cons: The hotel is dated and not well used as the city does not lend itself to tourists
Location: Nothing
Those thinking of traveling to Salerno should rethink that trip. There is nothing to do there and the shopping is real poor. They have a nice ocean view from this dated hotel but that is truly all they offer.