Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong AUS

Potential unrealised

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Location: On the plus side - location was just above the historic area. The views of Salerno from the terrace were great. Transport was provided to/from station
Looked excellent online BUT in our room the aircon failed to cool the room, the fridge was inside a wardrobe (meaning that it could not function properly and there was no space for hanging long items of clothing), the bracket to hold the shower head was broken off. Worst though was the pool (one of the reasons we chose this hotel) was an inch deep in green slime. Its equipment seems to have been broken for a long time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Villa Poseidon, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thak you for spending your time in writing a review , we are happy you apreciated the location and the service.As concerns A/C we inform that in October it is off and, only in case weather is over 30° we turn on it, the same for the pool, we had rainy days and all our attempts to keep it clead failed!! We hope to welcome you back soon!!! Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Hotel was lovely, our room looked exactly like the pictures online and had a great sea view! The staff were so helpful and friendly and gave great tips and directions and called people for us when there was a language barrier. The wifi in the room wasn't great but worked downstairs but who cares about wifi when you are on holiday on the Amalfi coast!! Overall we had a wonderful few days here and would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Villa Poseidon, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, thank you for the nice review; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guests!!! we hope to see you again ! warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Step aerobics

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Great location with wonderful views of Salerno and the facility to cool of by the pool on a hot day .An interesting walk down to the old part of town not for any one with any form of mobility problem 200 plus steps but there is a public escalator for most of the returntrip but not all the way.The bfst buffet looked very inviting as did evening service.The staff are very helpful and friendly.Will stay again hopefully in one of the plush rooms with a balcony
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Villa Poseidon, Hotel Management
Dear Neil, we were really pleased to have tou as our guests and we're happy you had a great time ... we're waiting to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel with a very good breakfast.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Beautiful decor and good service.
Cons: The room did not have a pleasant view.
Location: Location is mediocre. Salerno is not very interesting, and parts were rundown. The beach was not nearby.
The hotel was a value for the money, clean, well appointed, spacious room and a jacuzzi. The breakfast was excellent and the pool large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Villa Poseidon, Hotel Management
Dear Don, we are happy you appreciated the staff service, hotel design and rooms; We hope to see you in the future!
1 out of 5
by Jason

AVOID! This hotel is not open until April 2016

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived at hotel with reservation for New Year's Eve, but sign posted at gate stating hotel closed for the season until April 2016. Rang the intercom, and a woman briefly stated "hotel is closed" and then hung up on me. She did not answer when I rang the intercom on the gate again. Absolutely no help and infuriating after being charged several hundred dollars. I called customer service line at hotels.com to request a refund. I was transferred three different times to various service representatives (all 3 very nice and professional) but I spent over 30 minutes on hold - I was told that it would be at least 72 hours before somebody could approve the refund. Still waiting on the refund. I am incredibly unhappy with the very rude customer service at the hotel and moderately dissatisfied that hotels.com listed a closed hotel as available for reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very long walk with stairs all down hill to get to center of town which meant on way back all up hill. We left a day early cause it was end of season, poo was drained and there wasn't much to do
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we appreciate your review but in every website is written that Villa Poseidon overlooks the sea and it takes to walk down the stairs to reach the old center of the town, the same for the pool, it is seasonal and whn the weather is not fine it is impossible to clean that's the reason why we prefer to close it, Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely resort, but bring your own wheels

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great place--if you have a car or other means of local transport. The hotel is a splendid resort high on a hill overlooking the harbor. It's also outside the center, requiring not inexpensive taxi rides to get there and back unless you have your own means of transport. If you go, don't hesitate to stay there.
4 out of 5
by Paul from Vancouver

Give breakfast an upgrade!

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Stopped for an overnight on our way to Positano. Everything was fine , staff were nice and really the only thing I can say stood out was horrible horrible processed cheese at breakfast!!! This blew my mind.
5 out of 5
by charlene from canada

excellent all round

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels
Location Location Location. Excellent hotel and food and staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville,Canada

First Night in Italy

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: NIL
Cons: Provide a room that I paid for!!!!
arrived at 5pm after the drive from Naples. really looking forward to our first night, relaxing and having some great red wine on the terrace. NOT!! Arrived at the Hotel only to be told that the room "a Superior Double, with Terrace" as we booked was not really as it says! Sorry, we were told and we had to settle for a measly standard double....to say the least. The Manager tried to make up for it by offering a bottle of wine and a discount. Unfortunately, they did not have any red wine!! Really, we are in Italy. the Front desk had to be sent out to find a bottle at the local shop. as for the "discount" due to room error, never happened as of yet!