Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from folkestone

Fantastic architecture and a bit quirky

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms. Character. Staff were friendly. Casino. Views.
Cons: Food in restaurant and service
Location: Beside thermal baths and within walking distance of shops and restaurants
We loved the architecture of the building. Edwardian style with lovely rooms inside. Hotel rooms are around outside and we had a lovely central room on first floor with 3 French doors leading to small balcony. We overlooked the park and baths. The room was large and well furnished. The casino is a bit bizarre but different. The restaurant is in a lovely room but the service was dreadful and the food was not good. My husband is vegetarian and after saying that they would design a meal we opted to eat on our first night. It was a disaster. Over 20 minutes to order a drink despite there being only one other person on the restaurant with two servers. The portions were tiny and the designed meal was a plate of raw vegetables and salad for starter and then tiny portion of pasta with same veg for main. We ended up ,raving and going to the local store for crisps etc.... Town is sweet but we saw it in an afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Réception, Hotel Management
Dear customers, Thanks to have choice our hotel for your stay in Béarn. We are sorry for your diner! We send the information back to the restaurant manager that this does not happen again We stay at your disposal for more information Have a nice end of day !
2 out of 5
by James

A/C not working.

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
The day we arrived for a single nights stay it was hot at about 35 c. The a/c In the building was unable to maintain a cool room. It was downright hot in our room and remained that way until late evening when a cool wind brought the temperature down. I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Sophie, Hotel Management
Dear James, We are so sorry for the air conditioning which didn't working during your stay ! We put at the disposal fans in order to refresh the rooms. We stay at your disposal for more information about a next stay in our hotel. I wish you a nice day !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel at the foot of the Pyrenees

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely, with very, very soundproof windows. Lots of street noise, but when we closed the windows - silence! Parking was a big of a challenge - across the road, through a tunnel, at the train station - but it worked.
4 out of 5
by Olivia from Claremont, CA

Great stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Came for wedding of a friend. Pleasant stay, very secluded.
3 out of 5
by Abigail

An Old Hotel with a Casino

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
The sign on this historic building reads "Casino" with "Hotel" not the first thing you see. It's not easy to renovate a building as historic and complex as this one. The breakfast wasn't very good. But the town is very nice and I wish them well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Characterful and quirky!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The location, the service.
Cons: Nothing really, it could do with a bit of up-dating, but it's fine.
Location: The location is pretty, and central to Salies de Bearn, so very convenient for eating out etc.
This hotel is fine. It's clean, the service is good, the food was ok. It's great value for money, in a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Atmospheric

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Slightly old fashioned, great site, excellent staff and the most comfortable bed in France.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels
the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. the room was kept clean and neat. the room was very small. no refrigerator or coffee pot in the room was a negative. the bed was ok, but not really comfortable. location was good, easily accessable. older hotel, so lots of character, but lacks some on comfort. staff made our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by marcel

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Sophie, Hotel Management
Cher Marcel, Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis sur notre établissement ! N'hésitez pas à revenir vers vous pour un futur séjour Bien à vous