Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean old motel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This motel is old pretty run down. We were happy with the cleanliness of our room. It's very affordable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth

The worst hotel ever

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Leaving the property without being further abused
Cons: A bulldozer could improve this decrepit hotel
Location: I like Kansas in the spring but not this hotel
When I arrived I attempted to cancel the 2nd day I had reserved. The desk clerk (manager?) started yelling. Yelling in such a way I had never experienced in hotel travel. He was so intimidating I asked him to please lower his voice as it was clear he was getting more agitated. Finally his wife (?) interceded telling me he doesn't mean anything. He finally said that the fax cancelling the 2nd night had to be received by 8 pm even though the confirmation stated midnight. I called my wife to attempt to cancel the 2nd night but she said the confirmation number you provided me was not recognized by your system. As it was 730 on 1st night so I didn't have time to act. Later, when I came to occupy my room I see a mature couple rooming next to me Leaving, taking fotos as they backed out the door. I asked why they said they found the room too dirty and when they asked the clerk for clean sheets he brought dirty sheets then said if they wanted better they should go to another hotel. The couple claimed he became so agitated that the guest thought he was going to be attacked. They decided to leave. You have probably heard from them also. I inspected my room and found it was equally unacceptable and decided to call my sister to stay with her rather than risk another confrontation with the clerk, as I am 70 years and can't risk him attacking me. I intend to dispute my Amex billing because of the dirty room I never occupied.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Budget Lodge Inn - Abilene, KS, Hotel Management
Hello Greg, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us a review of your stay. We always appreciate guest feedback. To address your issue with cancelling your second night’s reservation, Budget Lodge Inn and Expedia’s policies state you have to contact Expedia to cancel your reservation. Once I had informed this information to you, you had become upset and stormed out of the lobby. The front desk had never raised their voice nor become confrontational towards you, sir. We would have gladly canceled your reservation, do to policies the guest has to contact Expedia to cancel a reservation or Expedia will charge our property commission. The second part of your review is exceedingly falsely reported. The guest you are referring to had lied to the front desk about having zero pets. The front desk then had given them a non-pet-friendly room. Once seen through security cameras that the guest had 3 dogs the front desk had asked the guest to pay the pet fee as per motel policy.Then the guest was moved into a pet-friendly room.They might of have been upset because the front desk had caught them in a lie and charged them for something they did not want to pay, but once again the front desk had never raised their voice or become confrontational to that guest. I would like to take the moment to address any potential guests to please review our other comments by other guests who have stayed at our property and left a review about their stay. As we have been engaged and doing hotel business for the last 10 years, we come across some guests that want to scam a free stay or lie to us about pets or wanting money back after their stay under any wrong reasons. If we deny their false accusations they threaten to leave a bad review online. If you have any questions please feel free to contact our property at any time. We appreciate your business!
5 out of 5
by Dean

Very satisfied.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
I went to Abilene to run a marathon. This was the cheapest place in town, and all I needed was a place to sleep and a shower. It was perfect! The folks were nice, the room was clean and everything worked. Plenty of TV channels and free wi-fi. They also extended my check-out time to 1pm no problem, since I was running the marathon, and needed to clean up afterward. I will stay here again next year, when I come back to run the marathon again!
3 out of 5
by Mason

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good value in a safe neighborhood.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Not far from I-70. I got there after a long drive and slept well and took off early in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel, great value.

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Staid for two weeks while working temporarily in Abilene. This is a surprisingly clean and quiet motel, with caring and friendly management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bugs...

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was okay, expect for the 2 black bugs which were crawling across my bathroom floor in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the price, it is what it is

Posted Oct 16, 2016
This is an older motel. The rooms however are very clean. Bar across the parking lot is good and bad. Nice place to eat drink and hang out, but not so good when you are trying to sleep
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortale

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
We found the night to be great! If and when we come back thru we will stay in the motel!