Ratings based on 1,252 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Dark inside and dated. Clean and quiet though. Big hotel with hardly and guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Overland Park KS

convenient hotel to downtown area

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: The location was pretty close to the main business district.
Cons: A bar would have been nice to go to relax and have a drink and a bite to eat. I really miss the pool.
Location: The only places that I visited nearby were in the downtown area.
The price of the room was terrific. The hall was a bit musty but the room was fine. I was disappointed that the pool, which was still on the website, has been permanently closed. The restaurant/bar on site has also closed. The hot breakfast advertised was fine, mainly waffles and biscuits and gravy. I was on the back side of the complex, well away from the traffic of the main street. The parking surface was fine on 3 sides but was pretty rough on the 4th side. I heard the intent was to expand the convention portion of the hotel, but that the intentions had fallen by the wayside. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Jodi Cross, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your response. We are still working on getting things improved. Sorry about pool and bar/restaurant. The pool being closed is out of our hands as because of the slide we need additional insurance as well as an Amusement Park License. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Three rooms and still didn't get it right

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
We stayed 3 (consecutive) nights, in 2 different rooms. It would have been 3 but we asked for a different room right off the bat when we arrived there. It was because the room we were first given had a bathroom with a very short toilet, very awkward to use. The next room we had, the room was cleaner than the first and smelled better. It had an ADA bathroom so the toilet was much better. The bed wasn't too bad. The next morning, we were going to take showers. Discovered there was no hot water. After a 1 1/2 hour wait for the maintenance man to figure out what was going on, it was determined that we needed to move to another room. He made sure the next room was up to par before having us move to it. We appreciated that. The last room was OK but still with a few issues. The heat lamp in the bathroom was burned out and they couldn't replace it with a new heat lamp so they used a regular non-heat lamp bulb. The bed was a little worse than the second bed. They didn't have enough towels in the room. On the plus side, the chair supplied for use with the table was actually a CHAIR that works with the table. The previous room we had to go find a chair for the table. We needed a chair so we could use the table for our laptop. As for amenities, we feel like there were none. Everything was shut down permanently, the pool, restaurant, gym, etc. If there was a free breakfast we didn't know about it. As for free parking lot - use at your own risk. Free wifi sucked. NOT a good place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Australia

A quiet convention centre

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: At this price point - nothing!
A massive atrium - well looked after - with no convention on - the place was Very Good Value
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Jodi, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you return soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
After changing rooms 3 times we were so unhappy with the conditions of the hotel and the staff that we decided not to spend the night. Instead after the event we had come into town to attend we drove 1 1/2 hours home at midnight. Staff could have cared less. We had stayed there previously several years ago and while dated then it was still clean. We were shocked at how much it had declined. Since it was pre-paid we lost our money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

A DUMP

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Price Only
Cons: Attitude of staff and Needs a total demolition and rebuild
Location: Best thing was Hickory HGiut BBQ across the street
poorly lighted Hard to see olff the Road The MOST uNPLEASANT FRONT Desk perswon wever Shabby Crummy Dump
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Cheap

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Yes the cost is cheap, but the staff shouldn't be rude. The equipment in the workout room needs to be updated. Was happy that they had something other than the waffles as a hot item for breakfast. When booking the hotel I asked Expedia for a particular room and was given a room in the back by the backdoors where people stepped out to smoke. The hallway smelled of smoke and caused my asthma to act up. So Expedia if a customer wants a certain room then they have a reason.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Good place for just an overnight stay

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Hotel was a good price for an overnight stay with breakfast. The hotel has seen better days, but was great for a stop to break up a long trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Independence MO.

I was expecting it to be better

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The open center of the hotel. Yeah it looked a little dated but so what. Put something in there to make visitors want to be at the hotel and enjoy.
Cons: Everything. Open the pool, open the game room, make it more inviting open a gift shop, make the breakfast hours available. Take tubs out.
Location: Nothing much going on in the area. More eateries than anything which is good but I had to get back out on the interstate to get to Walmart.
The black lady behind the counter wasn't very pleasant when we checked in. There's mold/mildew in the shower. There is a nice open area in the center of the hotel that could be used for so many potentials much more than just have some boring table and chairs. There's a arcade room on the other side of the center of the hotel but nothing was on no lights no games on nothing going on. Posted sign that says "smile your on camera" as to say if I'm doing something wrong by checking out the hotel. I don't why you'd have surveillance cameras running but no swimming pool, no game room, so why bother checking out the work out room, right? Sign in the main lobby that states "the pool and slide is closed permanently after August 2017" that would have been nice to have known that before we got there. There is a small little area that could be used for a gift shop of to the side for sodas and snacks and wasn't very inviting with it also dark. The pictures I saw when I booked the room are nothing like what the actual hotel looks like which made things very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Nice room, no pool. Staff sitting at front entry smoking. Phone in room did not work