Ratings based on 1,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, California

Disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: See previous comments.
Cons: I would encourage Expedia to remove this hotel from the offering in Salina, Kansas. Also, I urge the Ambassador Hotel to renovate their facility.
On the way to staying at the Ambassador Hotel in Salina, my wife went on the internet to read the reviews that were offered through Expedia. To our surprise, none of the reviews were positive. We then concluded that we would go to the hotel and cancel our reservation, knowing that we may be charged for the stay. Driving in the parking lot of the hotel, I immediately realized that the reviews were spot on with their negativity. Major areas of the pavement were in disrepair. Then, the lobby smelled very musty. However, the positive side to all of this is that the lady that greeted me was wonderful. I explained to her that we had read several negative reviews of the Ambassador Hotel, and would simply like to cancel our reservation, as we would not be staying. She then quickly made the cancellation. I really didn't know whether we would be charged or not for the room, as it was cancelled the same day as the reservation. As of 8-22-2016, no charge has been noted on my credit card for this reservation. I realize that the Ambassador Hotel and this kind lady, could have easily charged me for the room. For this I only offer my thanks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: slide made my kids smile as I was frowning cause what I reserved
Cons: everything
Too much too list! Same as every other bad review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

Bar & grill closed, pool not working.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Remodel and demold the place. Get a decent restaurant/bar...better breakfast.
Musty smelling. Older hotel...needs serious remodeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We knew the hotel had changed it's standard as soon as we pulled in the parking lot. Terribly run down and unmaintained outside and in. The pool was disgusting. Discolored water and slimy around the slide. The hot tub was filthy. I had lots of hair stuck to me after getting out. The ceiling was falling apart. Our room smelled sooo bad! Musty and damp. The air did not work very well and you could cut the humidity with a knife. We woke up feeling sticky. The bed actually felt damp. I come to Salina several times a year to visit family. Years ago I have stayed at this hotel when it was under different management. It is definitely not the quality it was 10 years ago. I think the place should just be bulldozed. I have stayed at crappy motels in town that we're better than this hotel. Very disappointed!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Nice older place clean but needs paint in rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Ask desk clerk if we could pay cash & take off card,upon check in, told no it was already done. We had done so at another hotel & it was no problem
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Unpleasant

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: They waived pet fee
Cons: Complete rehab of hotel & rooms
Location: N/A
The hotel is rundown. The room smelled of mildew, curtain rod held up with zip tie, broken light fixture, mold on bathroom wallpaper, sheet on one bed was too small for mattress.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

incredibly tired

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Their Internet ad that lured us to the place.
Cons: Really, see above.
Location: It was fine.
It looks like an abandoned building. No lights in parking lots, or on outside of the building. A lot of paint just won't cover up this much age. Ceiling tiles falling out or water stained. The smell of chlorine was so strong from the pool it could even be smelled in our room, which was not near the pool, and the pool was closed for the day we were there. The real stopper though was the bugs in our room.. Need I say more.?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by A.M., Hotel Management
SORRY THAT YOU HAD TO ENDURE THE SMELL OF CHLORINE. OUR POOL WAS BEING TREATED THAT DAY WITH THE CHEMICALS NEEDED TO MAINTAIN IT AND KEEP IT SANITARY!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Never again

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Run down rooms bed was wet waited forever to get help. Very stressful and filthy stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Nice breakfast pretty hotel and room. Great price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

One star is too much

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Horrible! Like, don't even give a chance, avoid the time and money. Go somewhere else.