Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel well situated

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Easy to navigate, quiet considering the area
Location: Easy walk to centre of Salisbury particularly the excellent Cathedral and Museum
Well located, very pleasant room, helpful staff. We did not have dinner there so can't comment on food - except to say that while breakfast was fine there seemed an odd separation between cooked and continental, Both were £7.50 but we were left wondering whether we could mix them - as it happened we both wanted just the cereal and fruit so didn't enquire but this could have been clearer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely venue ruined by rude staff

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We recently stayed for 2 nights at what is a lovely quaint building in a beautiful setting. The rooms were fine, albeit a little cold. Sadly, the entire experience was let down by the attitude of some of the staff. There were a few exceptions - some of the staff were nice, professional and genuinely cared - but unfortunately our stay was ruined by the rest who probably shouldn't be working anywhere near the customer service industry. Add to that the massively inflated prices - a glass of wine costs more than in 5* London restaurants! - and I'm afraid I find it very hard to say anything positive. Maybe we were just unlucky, but I hate to think that someone might hold a wedding here - some of the attitude we experienced would completely ruin a special day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel bordering the river Avon

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Close to the city centre. Very quiet. In summer the riverside location would be idea for early evening drinks
Cons: One very minor complaint. The coffee at breakfast was almost undrinkable, we did mention this at check out and the receptionist.
Location: Lots to do it Salisbury itself - cathedral, Ted Heath's house, Mompesson house, walk to Old Sarum. Even more to do outside the city.
We spent four nights at the hotel, it was an excellent base from which to explore Salisbury and the surrounding area. The room was a good size with a door out to a small patio area with chairs. The staff we met were very helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Tranquil location, easy walking distance to town

Posted Sep 11, 2017
An overnight stay for a weekend in Salisbury. Chosen for its location. Four poster bed and oak beams in the junior suite made the stay very memorable. Courteous staff, but slightly pricey evening meal..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful location but room for improvement

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The appearance and location are excellent.
Cons: Continental breakfast options are poor and presenting frozen bread at a hotel at this price? Seriously?
Location: Beautiful riverside location just outside the Cathedral area with its museums.
Located in a beautiful riverside location, ten minutes walk from the cathedral it is an excellent location for a visitor to the city. The room was very clean and comfortable. But no windows and only a very small skylight. I imagine the room would be very hot in high summer with no air conditioning. Tea and coffee facilities were good but breakfast was a disappointment. Having paid a £9 supplement for a breakfast when booking the room we encountered a further £5.95 charge for a cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast was very basic and the bread was frozen solid in the middle so we ended up paying the supplement to get something worth eating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Lovely setting

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The setting is beautiful
Cons: Possibly more imagination needed at breakfast. It was a very warm morning and I was puzzled why the staff did not open the doors onto the river.
Location: Beautiful walks through the Cathedral Close and into the City centre.
this hotel has lovely views and the river at the bottom of the garden. Punting excursions along the river from the hotel is a great idea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location & room size.
Cons: Replace shower curtain with screen.
Location: We left just after breakfast.
Stayed here for a wedding we were going to. Couldn't check in 'till 2pm, which it does state on the hotel's website. There was no possibility of us checking in earlier which we enquired about on arrival. Thought the receptionist was a little sharp with us. Come two o'clock & our room wasn't ready, waited 15 minutes, & we had to then rush to get ready as our taxi was booked for 2.30. Having said that our room overlooking the river was great, large, plenty of room for us to get ready, large bathroom with plenty of shelf space for toiletries. Really comfy bed & pillows. Breakfast was ok but could have been warmer. Staff at breakfast were very helpful & friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice hotel close to Stonehenge

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: There was a party in the main room of the hotel and we could hear the music quite late.
We booked the hotel as we had reserved the sunrise at Stonehenge tour the following morning nine miles away. We wish we could have stayed a bit longer. Salisbury is a good town to explore and the hotel is set very scenically on the river. As we sat and had drinks punting boats and a swan cruised past. The rooms were very nice with lovely amenities. Ours faced the river. The restaurant was very accommodating with our son’s food allergy needs which was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely village of Salisbury

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Warm and cosy, grounds and view spectacular, fresh and inviting.
Cons: Nil
Location: Lots to do in quaint Salisbury, cathedral and Stonehenge was awesome and educational.
Great staff, awesome breakfast. Close to township easy walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly acceptable hotel, but nothing special

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Fairly comfortable hotel in an attractive riverside location. Facilities are rather basic. We found the staff pleasant but not too efficient - we were asked 3 times if we wanted a cooked breakfast, our wake-up call never came, but the wrong newspaper did.