Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Salisbury

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Nice staff and renovated lobby and restaurant/bar at this hotel in a great location in Salisbury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Yasmin Sharp, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cathedral Hotel. We will be getting a new menu for next month so come back and visit again to see our new improvements!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Good food, very friendly staff. Convenient location. Noisy Saturday night
Cons: A light in the lift would help.
Weekend away- suitably priced hotel near centre of city. Comfortable,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Yasmin Sharp, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying here at The Cathedral Hotel. We have an electrician coming in soon, due to the age of our lift the parts are difficult to get and the entire light fixture needs to be replaced. Thank you for recognising the staff here, we aim to please our guests here and we are glad you enjoyed the food! Come back again in the future to enjoy our new menu!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. They let us store luggage after check out so we could do more sight seeing before we left town. There is air conditioning in the restaurant downstairs (which was the only place we could get Wi-Fi to work for us) but not in the rooms. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and included with our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Our wifi is being dealt with and should be back to top condition in a few days, as we have been having some signal troubles with the upstairs floors recently. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and that you had a pleasant stay here! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Yasmin Sharp Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central hotel, a little tired

Posted May 31, 2017
Has had some surface level updates - ie paint - but still more work needed. Bed was squeaky and shower door handle missing. Fine but nothing to write home about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Yasmin, Hotel Management
Dear Olivia, Thank you for this feedback, we appreciate all feedback and use it as a jumping off point for improvements. If you could let us know what room you were in by sending us an email to speed up the process that would be great. Kind regards, Yasmin
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not a good choice for enjoyment but convenient

Posted May 17, 2017
Very unprofessional management, poor amenities, small and uncomfortable rooms and corridor, but the staff is helpful.
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Great location and breakfast.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed 4 nights and the hotel was ideally located to take in all the terrific, historical sites Salisbury and Wiltshire have to offer. Room was good with great service, hotel meals good and breakfast fantastic with breakfast manager Hadi fabulous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Poor value for single traveller

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, situation
Cons: Bigger bed, light switch near bathroom door & new batteries in TV remote
Location: Close to centre - Stunning cathedral with copy of Magna Carta
Old hotel in the middle of the city, convenient to shops restaurants and Cathedral. The hotel contains a modern late-night bar with a very big screen for sports, and nightclub at weekends. Breakfast is good though slow on Sunday morning (not enough staff). Bar snacks good. Real ale available. Single room was small and bed narrow - but cost as much as a double room. Room noisy on Friday and Saturday nights - earplugs provided. Staff are young, helpful and work hard. No car park - public car parks within quarter of a mile £8 a day (Sunday free) Would have got a 4th star other than poor value for money as travelling on own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Great location for the Stone henge tour bus

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Had a great stay. The included breakfast was outstanding! Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Comfortable, friendly.

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an older building with a lot of charm. My room was large and very comfortable. There was tea/coffee making service in the room, complete with ginger biscuits. My private bathroom was huge. The included breakfast has multiple options; order anything off the menu cooked to order and/or have toast, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt. The building looks recently updated. Carpet, paint all seem new with the old quaint woodwork, clean and lovely. The guestrooms are very secure with a key needed to go upstairs, key for the lift and key for the room. The off season price was a bargain. Fantastic location. The hotel is near the cathedral, the market and shopping.
3 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi was poor