Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Gold river

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff were not helpful. 1 thin flat pillow each had to ask for more. Very noisy throughout night , as we believe there was a dog in the next room as well as door slamming . Very dark corridor, couldn't see to get my key in the door and walked into pile of sheets left by cleaners. Not a good experience for what is meant to be 4*.
3 out of 5
by Boaz

Ok overall

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was ok, room clean and good ok as well - the only problem was the front desk service which was unavailable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Shame about the swimming pool closed from the weekend we arrived(._.)
4 out of 5
by Eitan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good fun for families

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We went with our two teenage girls and it was good fun. the theme park is open until midnight so we went every evening as it was cooler, less queuing and the rides are definitely more fun in the dark. Portaventura train station is on site so it was straight forward to go into Barcelona from the hotel, it took about an hour and 30 mins. If you go to the Aqua Caribe water park you can buy the tickets at the hotel for € 20 each but go from when the park opens as the queues are huge. The hotel is more aimed at French and Spanish tourists. The staff speak English but there are only four English speaking TV channels, three news and one sesame Street. You can't stream TV, films etc online from hotel wifi, however these are minor issues as why are you sitting watching TV anyway when there's a theme park next door? Salou has a beautiful beach, restaurants, shops and night clubs. We didn't go to the night clubs as we're ancient but we seen the youngsters coming home at 7 am looking very happy. The hotel runs a free evening bus service from10 pm into Salou, last bus is around midnight to come back. We would recommend hotel. Staff are friendly, food good, attention to detail in the buildings i.e wild west theme is better than anything we'd seen even in Florida, theme park is huge with some great rides. Good fun for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Great Family Break

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Grounds, direct access to theme park, pools, rooms, most of the food.
Cons: Lack of drinking water provided
We had previously stayed at a different PortAventura hotel- El Paso and took a lot of time deliberating about trying a different hotel. We were not disappointed, this is definitely of a 4* standard, we were on half board option this time which in the summer months I thoroughly recommend because we were constantly in and out of the park until midnight therefore being on all inclusive would have been a waste of money or meant that we stayed at the hotel and missed out on the theme park. The grounds were immaculate, the pools great, breakfast buffet was good, evening buffet mixed. I recommend utilising the a la carte restaurants in the theme park which can be booked by guest relations as they were great. The rooms were comfortable and a good standard for Spain. We went to the water park one day, if you don't buy express tickets then don't bother, its too busy in the summer. The express tickets for the theme park are absolutely worth the money for cutting down on queue times we'd definitely invest on the passes from the hotel again as it was great value as they were valid for the entire stay. I will mention a minor negative, bottled water is not provided in the mini bar- for a 4* hotel I think this should be improved on, I appreciate that free drinking water is available in the restaurant but only accessible when the restaurant is open, I feel this should be available the whole time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Gluten free

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Excellent care taken with my son who is coeliac I felt confident with the food they prepared for him
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

The staf is very rude

Posted Apr 17, 2016
1-The staf is very rude 2-The kitchen not equipped with kitchen tools 3-the park not as we expected few games was under construction
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by PortAventura Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hamid: We are very sorry that the three aspects you mentioned failed to meet your expectations. We assure you that quality service is one of our priorities throughout the resort and we strive to ensure the highest satisfaction of our guests. That is why we regret receiving opinions like yours because the facts you describe are not at all representative of the service we aim to provide at our facilities. All of your comments will be forwarded to the relevant areas for serious consideration in an effort to guarantee a level of service that is comparable with the standards that we are committed to offering our guests. Regards, PortAventura
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good selection of breakfasts,

Posted Sep 1, 2015
We had a nice stay at the hotel but there was no kettle for tea or any drinks in the fridge which was annoying when you become thirsty. The buffet could do with a selection for vegetarians. But overall had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent location to port Aventura, superior fami

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: the pools and right next to theme park
Cons: check in took ages. a hotel directory would have been nice, I think its the only hotel I have stayed in that hasn't had one.
Location: great location for theme park. taxi ride to Salou 11 euros or free mini bus from hotel with 4/5 pick ups/ drop offs
Nightmare to check in. took a good hour. Superior family room was ok, I think the website photos must have been taken with a really good camera, ours wasn't as spacious, great view over hotel and theme park. 3 great swimming pools. A 2 minute walk gets you into Wild West bit of theme park, that was brilliant we were only here for 4 days so the accessabilty was superb. Found both the hotel and theme park if anything cheap, I expected to be ripped off (I have been to EuroDisney !) We went for a short relaxing break and it was great. Hotel not cheap to stay in but the extras made up for it