Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon england

Fantastic hotel much better than the photos show

Posted May 14, 2017
We were offered an upgrade into a beautiful suite, the swimming pool was spotless , the views incredible. The breakfast room is one of the nicest spaces I have ever eaten in and the food was terrific. The website photos do not do the castle justice had only booked a night but would have happily stayed forever! Thank you for making is so welcome Wonderful dog too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic accommodation

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
It is a lovely place to stay. I had expected to be sleeping in the castle, but it was actually a separate building. They could do a few things to make staying there in the colder parts of the year more comfortable, including actually lighting the open fire place in the shared lounge and opening the restaurant as a bar before dinner (which didn't open until 7.30pm). We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet on offer in the morning. We had a massage treatment (which was ok) and then enjoyed the steam room and spa in the wellness centre. A heads up with the bathroom in the standard room- ours was absolutely tiny- the sink bench basically over hung the toilet, meaning anyone less mobile or big would have struggled using the toilet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nicely updated countryside castle

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The countryside, the winding roads with spectacular views, The remodelling of old buildings. Breakfast provided was above and beyond, delicious
Cons: We visited two days that the restaurant associated with the property was not available.
Location: Spa and pool facilities, tours of the castle, outdoor sitting areas to enjoy the view, location to small towns and communitites.
Fabulous views, located in the country side, quiet, updated lodgings situated beside a castle. Tours available as well as being available to rent and hold events such as weddings. Spa, pool, two restaurants available for quests to enjoy. Small village nearby and about 35 mins from Parm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High standard

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good location With an fantastic view..Nice spa With steambath, sauna, jacuzzi and relax area.. Comfortable room With high standard.. Dinner and Breakfast excellent..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical Gem.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a terrific experience. The tour of the castle and the pool and spa area are magnificent. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to assist you. The breakfast in the morning was breathtaking with excellent food, service and views of the valley below. We cannot wait to return for another visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

romantice

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Beautiful location away from tourists. Best view of the Italian country side.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have been wonderful...........

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel in March for the last night of our trip to Italy. After a hectic trip we wanted a night somewhere peaceful with a lovely restaurant. Unfortunately we were informed a few days before leaving for our trip that we couldn't eat in the restaurant as it had been given to a private party for the evening. We were offered a room upgrade as compensation and dinner booked in a nearby restaurant. Unfortunately the private party were at the pool when we arrived, all drinking and having fun. It made us feel like we were intruding on the party as the pool area is quite small. Dinner at the local restaurant was OK, but not the hoped for experience. Our room was very nice, but being woken at 3.20am by the private party members returning, falling up the staircase and banging doors kind of took the shine off it all. Breakfast was lovely on the terrace. Would advise you check when booking if any large parties are expected as it really did affect our enjoyment of what should have been a wonderful end to our trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Viplob from Barnet

Amazing castle

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and surroundings. Amazing restaurant run by a local chef on site with a daily menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

serene spot

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: It was a sanctuary.
Location: Really far out
The castle provided us with some badly needed rest. Lovely gardens with secret little spots, lovely spacious room and a beautiful breakfast room with lovely choices.