Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great location & price. Room temps are pretty hot.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Meeting people from all over and sharing experiences with them. Comfortable and down to earth - not snobby.
Cons: Food can be less spicy.
Location: Great location-shuttle to Alta which is right there across the mountain's parking lot. We were so tired from skiing that we didn't have energy left.
This is a great place to meet people. Reservations are required for evening meals and you are seated at tables with others which helps you meet new people and enjoy their company. We met some wonderful people, skied with some and hope that we will see them again on future trips to the Peruvian. The room was rustic but comfortable and definitely clean which is all I really care about. The room was also very warm, but we just shut off the heater and opened the window to get real fresh air. The Peruvian also has an outdoor heated pool and two jacuzzis which are a real treat - especially after a hard day of skiing. The only complaint I had the entire week was that the food was a bit spicy. Let up on the pepper and hot spices and everything would be just great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best for bro weekend

Posted Mar 5, 2016
No frills ski bum bro lodge. Don't bring your girlfriend here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Fashioned Nice Lodge

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Nice place to stay for skiing. Staff members are superb and very helpful. Food is amazing. Fireplaces are cozy and wine is cheap! Will go there next winter also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, glass lounge/ living room, 4:30 fresh baked cookies, view of the mountain, fresh coffee, espresso, two bars, two hot tubs and pool,
Location: 'Shallow Shaft" restaurant, outstanding! the boot fitter at "Deep Powder Ski Shop", Zo, was extremely knowledgeable and talented
effortless, you don't have to think about where to go for your meals, all meals included, even lunch was easy to get to from the slopes. met a lot of people who have been repeat customers for over 30 years and I can see why. If your looking for fancy, keep looking. truly relaxing and comfortable and the food was excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Is this a hostel?

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Bathroom is down the hall. Rooms are tiny. No tv. Youll do better at another hotel. Even on a budget. I wouldn't want my worst enemy to have to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Todd Collins, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have purposely tried to maintain the lodge in a more old-world skiing tradition. The lodge was built in 1948 and the rooms maintain the same configuration as then, where some rooms require a walk down the hall to access the bathroom facilities. Now, as then, there were no TVs in the rooms, and our decision has been to keep it that was, in the hope that our guests will instead enjoy our staff, plus the friendly ambiance of the lobby, bar and heated pools. We also strive to ensure that our food is the best in Alta. I am sorry that your experience at the lodge did not live up to your expectations in the items you mentioned, but I sincerely hope that you had fun skiing at Alta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville tn

Wonderful ski in ski out camp

Posted Feb 13, 2015
It is very rewarding to sit for meals with all kind of interesting people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location to Alta ski area

Posted Apr 7, 2014
very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and hotel visitors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly

Posted Mar 31, 2014
A comfortable old-school atmosphere where everything is taken care of, if you want to ski. If you are looking for shopping and nightlife, Alta is not for you. The Peruvian is great, whether alone or with a large group. Three meals a day are included. Dinner is 4 courses, often with lively discussion between friends, family and strangers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mari from knoxville tn

Cozy ski retreat.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Very "down to earth" place where the atmosphere was very friendly. You meet people from all over the world. Food was excellent and it was very convenient to not have to go any where else. The hot tub at the end of the day was heavenly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frank from mt

alta peruvian

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: the shuttle service is super easy and quick.
Cons: pool area should open earlier.
Location: took in a jazz game-very entertaining
rooms are small, but clean. place has a real European feel to it.