Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

We picked it because of the location.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Good location, Good complimentary breakfast, clean very reasonably priced. Downside, an abundant number of homeless and police activity right outside the hotel. A couple of blocks up great eateries, Convention center, shopping etc. Didn't deter our activities or walking at all but might be a deal breaker for some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Convenient to downtown , good food nearby, breakfast at the inn was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fruita, Colorado

Good location with great access to downtown

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Good location with great access to downtown as well as the ski resorts and the highway. The staff members were all pleasant and able to answer our questions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crystal inn salt lake city

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Sauna did not work the property felt old very old and not comfortable mattress odor of old carpet in the hotel and in the room The a/c heating unit was making clicking noise Breakfast was not good Good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hooper, UT

So noisy I couldn't sleep.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It seems to be well maintained, clean and up-to-date with flat panel TVs and internet. It's near a Denny's and McDonalds, if those suit you.
Cons: The noise levels in our room were bad, and the air conditioner didn't seem to work. The breakfast had poached eggs and no bagels (my preference).
Location: This is a downtown hotel, so if you can walk a few blocks, there are restaurants, theaters and cultural activities nearby.
The hotel is what I would consider to be 3 - 3 1/2 star hotel. It's nice, the staff were pleasant, and the amenities were at least average. I was excited to stay here because they had Jacuzzi rooms. We stayed in town overnight for our anniversary. We took a room on the 4th floor and it must have been near the hotel's main water pipes. All evening / night long, the pipe made noise. It was really loud and made it difficult to sleep. On top of that, the room heater/air conditioner (one of those kind by the window) didn't seem to be working properly. It was set on 65 when we got there, but the room was obviously over 70. We turned it down to 60 to cool it off for sleeping, but the air was still the same temperature. So maybe it was just a bad room and we'd have been happy in another. We were only there for one night, or I'd have asked to switch. They have a breakfast in the morning that includes hot items (poached eggs, bacon, hashbrowns), but none of the things I like at other hotels, such as scrambled eggs, bagels or waffles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Walking distance to Salt Plaza

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Excellent breakfast. Nice hot tub. Very nice and spacious room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city, ut

Great hotel in downtown Salt Lake City

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Stayed the night before Valentine's Day. Close to everything downtown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Nice hotel in general but with issues

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The rooms are nice, a fridge and microwave are handy.
Cons: Soundproofing of floors/ceilings.
Location: There are quite a few places to walk to and see within a couple of miles, but as noted above, walking is not a pleasant experience.
The location is not bad for events held at the Salt Lake Convention Center, or going to the FamilySearch Library, however, there are homeless people that hang out in the fast food places near the hotel and at the State Liquor Store, a half block away. If you walk, you will have to walk through the "gauntlet". There is a shuttle for 7, but it is often deployed between airport runs, and other places, so if you are attending a convention/conference, you will likely have to walk as we did because of non availability or just miss the first hour or so of the meetings. We had a 2nd story room, and for most nights we had a family "stomping" around above us when they came in at around 11pm, and then they were up at 5am getting ready to go somewhere for the last 3 nights we were there. So quality sleep was a big problem. If it were not for location, and for sound proofing, we would stay there again, however this was our last stay at Crystal Inn in downtown SLC, after quite a few years of visits. I am sure that the other hotels nearby also struggle with the location problem as well. If you don't walk to places in downtown, but it is simply a stopover for the night and drive away the next day, then location would not be an issue. Realize that the fast food places have homeless people also in the facilities, the bathrooms are locked except for patrons, and their is a security person at each, as well as paid police that roam the area. Still made us feel unsafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Near the Vivant Stadium and Redrock brewery. Enjoyed the hot tub and the daily cookies that were out when you came back from skiing. Super easy to get on the freeway and to the ski fields.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in walking distance to a lot

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Comfortable clean hotel. Easy to get to from airport and walking distance to a lot the city has to offer. Easy drive to all the great skiing.