Ratings based on 2,716 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Munich Germany

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Hotel was ok. The breakfast staff was amazingly fast and professional, but there weren't enough of them. It was nice to see people who enjoy their work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Dirty, horrible service, broken toilet

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I will never stay at this hotel again after a horrible 2 night stay last weekend. First, when checking in there were two rude and reluctant staff members who "helped" us after an obvious "stare down." We were told to use the back elevator to get to our room although our room was at the very front. The ice machine on our floor was inoperable all weekend despite notifying the front desk; they said to go to a different floor. We ordered dinner and when it arrived we had to go down to get it despite giving approval. The room was disgusting!! The bedspread had stains, there was hair on/in the sheets, mattress pad, bathtub and on the toilet. The toilet was broken so we had to take the back off, let it fill after unsticking the Flowmaster, and then flush. Saturday morning I went down and reported these issues to "Michi." She apologized and said she would have housekeeping and maintenance go right up and take care of it. 5 hours later we walked into the same filthy room. At 4pm I spoke with Amber who sent housekeeping after offering "two free meals". We had to leave the room and sit in a dinghy lounge area. The room was acceptable on return. I called Amber back to request a refund. She stated she would have to send an email to whomever had authority and she would call me back. She never called back and was "busy" both times I called and left her messages. I was told to call Expedia. The front desk employees were rude, ignorant and lack basic people skills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the fan made terrible noise all night

Posted Apr 26, 2017
the fan made terrible noise all night,and i would rather close the heater because it makes loud noise,but it's still noisy because all the floor is shaking, i higly suggest the hotel can provide all clients with ear plug if they would not have the heating system fixed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Good location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
When I showed up I had to wait in line for 45 minutes to check in. After I was all checked in I got to my room and there was still trash in my room as well as things weren't exactly put away where they should have been. The beds and linens were all clean so that was a plus. The staff wasn't too nice however. I had ordered food and went down to the lobby to grab it and the lady basically made me feel like I was a burden to her while she was just standing around talking to someone else that worked there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irish

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Over all it was fine. One morning we had ants in the bathroom. The trap door for the drain in the ceiling of the bathroom wasn't closed all the way. It appeared they were trying to make some improvements, but they have a long way to go yet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice Hotel, Not A Safe Location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was really nice. The food was great. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets.
Cons: Parking lot safety
I thought overall it was a nice hotel. The staff was available but not super friendly. The food was great but the service was very slow. I felt like the bathrooms weren't that clean. My biggest complaint was the amount of vagrants in the parking lot. I did not feel safe parking my vehicle. I was approached for money twice during my weekend stay, there was a syringe in the parking lot, and there were people sleeping there. Safety is important to me and I did not feel safe coming and going. I am not likely to stay here again because of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Good location, half mile walk to SLC center , will stay at this hotel again. If we come back to SLC
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lobby looks nice, rest doesn't

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Room was dingy, odd smelling. Very tight quarters, which isn't wholly terrible. The price was nice using Expedia, but felt the staff punished me for being an Expedia user. When I checked in, there was a table with a computer on it and a girl dressed down in a hoodie and leggings. I asked if this was the front desk and she scoffed at me and said yes. When she said I was going to be on the 3rd floor, I asked if there was a room any higher up available (I love overlooking the city). She scoffed again and very rudely said no, they were at 100% capacity. I doubt that based on the parking lot, but whatever. The next morning I called the front desk to ask for a toothbrush and paste (forgot mine) and was told I'd have to come down to the front desk and get it. I asked if it were possible to have it sent up (I have never been told to come down and get something at any hotel or motel, ever). She said yes, but it'd be a few minutes. I said that was fine. 45 minutes later, two toothbrushes arrive (I was the only person staying in my room) and am told they are out of paste (it happens, I deal). I check out shortly after and will never be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from (from) California

Great location, fun vibe!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Our stay here was great! Quick check in/out, fun vibe. There's a game room, lounge space in the front, and hang out family room style near the cafe. All the employees were super nice and we really enjoyed our stay! Also, you're not in downtown but you're close to it which was perfect for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: That is was close to downtown, that's about it.
Cons: Staff attention to customer needs.
We were in Salt Lake to attend Comic Con. I had heard the Red Lion was supposed to be the best hotel in downtown. I have 4 little kids, the room had hard floors, not carpet. I didn't like my kids running around on that floor. The bathroom was in bad condition, falling apart. The closet was hard to open. Our wi-fi worked for the first day then completely stopped working after that. Also our TV didn't work, we couldn't get to any channel. We were there for 3 days and I really needed those distractions for my kids. I asked the front desk to send someone up to take a look and no one ever came. Needless to say we were unhappy with it all and will never go back.