Ratings based on 2,541 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The price was good for a nice hotel close to downtown.
Location: The hotel is about 5 blocks away from City Creek shopping. Six blocks away from Temple Square.
Red Lion is a nice hotel. They've tried to keep it updated even though the building is getting on the older side. It's only a few blocks away from the actual city center, close enough to walk. The rooms are nice and comfortable. I didn't try the restaurants at the hotel but they look nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge disappointment

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: On the whole, nothing
Cons: The hole in the ceiling in the bathroom shower, the metal bed frame that squeak every time he turned over, the way voices sounded like people were in
Location: I don't know what there is to do nearby because I checked in late and checked out early. But the area itself was a bit on the seedy side
Huge disappointment and I would never stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never close the elevator

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The room is big and confortable
Cons: Cleanliness and noise (rooms next to the elevator)
Location: The hotel is well localizated, near to the comercial center.
The room wasn't clean enough and we heard the elevator noise all night long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A "serve yourself" hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The pillows were wonderful! prices were good
Cons: Personal were not very friendly. They did their job but did not go out of their way to help. We had a room with 2 beds and only 2 large bath towels.
Location: don't know. We stayed only for one night
If you don't mind taking care of yourself, this is the hotel for you. There was not a lot of customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness
Staff service was ok We were put in a Dirty Room to start with. Hall ways didn't look like they had been cleaned for a week. No Complimentary Breakfast. Not Impressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beds are amazing!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: BEDS
Cons: no breakfast
room was clean, service was great, and beds were amazing! My only complaint is no free breakfast. There is a breakfast buffet the restaurant in the Hotel had, but it was worth the $10.99 charge
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

I should get half price for the very small room

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: It's close to Downtown and the Temple (20-30 minutes walk)
The water feels like oil (sticky). The room they gave me is half the size of other rooms. To make matters worse, they could not give me a receipt because it's through Expedia. Want more? I can hear people talking from the room next door. T e r r i b l e !!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Beds are in need of replacing. Just didn't feel clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Utah

Good but could have been great.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The room was nice. Housekeeping staff was great but the rest seemed indifferent as it pertained to our enjoying our stay until we checked out. A few things like door on the exterior that wouldn't open on random occasions, having my room key stop working twice during our stay, and a shower head that leaked the entire time one took a bath were minor irritants. This place just seems to fall short of its potential and I would put that on management and front end staff. I wouldn't say I'd never stay there again but there are other places in SLC I'll try before I do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice hotel, clean

Posted Oct 2, 2016
This was a very nice hotel in downtown SLC. When I booked this stay on Expedia, it said it included breakfast. When we got up to breakfast we found out it wasn't included. The rooms are beautiful but the beds were super hard and uncomfortable. I didn't sleep much.