Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Loved the sitting area in the room. Staff were friendly. Convenient location. Breakfast was good, but didn't have a ton of variety. But everything was fresh and presented very nicely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review of the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and that our staff gave you great customer service. It would be our pleasure to serve you again next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Steven Diaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Only stayed here for one night but it was comfortable and close to freeway access. Luxurious and affordable rooms with a pretty good breakfast. Front desk staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our complimentary breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back when travel permits. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pocatello, ID

Great hotel and great location

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Clean. Location.
Cons: Nothing
Very clean and modern. Excellent location near Temple Square and Vivint Arena. Nice hot breakfast. Reasonable price. Second time I have stayed there and will likely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you especially for the wonderful comments about our location and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another stay with us. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Super convenient to downtown Salt Lake City.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly at courteous. The complimentary breakfast had a large variety of choices--there was something for everyone.
Cons: Our only complaint was that we had to pay for parking. This wasn't something we are accustomed to. However, the cost was minimal.
Location: There is some shopping at the Gateway. Close to the Jazz basketball and City Creek shopping mall and Trax system.
We loved our stay at the Hyatt Place. We liked having the pullout bed in the sofa so that every one of our children had a place to sleep. We also liked the convenience to shopping--either within walking distance or a quick trip by the Trax system.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
It is always wonderful to receive feedback from our valued guests, and I truly appreciate you taking the time to send such a lovely review of your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to learn that our hotel teams offered a warm greeting throughout your stay and were able to meet all your needs! I appreciate that you were very satisfied with your spacious accommodations and our location. I hope that you will stay with us next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuscaloosa, AL

Great spot for groups/families

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: This hotel had the best hotel breakfast I'd ever eaten. Good variety of foods every morning with an attentive staff.
Cons: Our room was on the corner and there was some noise from the TRAX light rail that runs by the hotel.
Location: The hotel is right beside the Gateway shopping center that has a few restaurants and shops you can walk to.
My family enjoyed our stay at this hotel for a quick winter vacation. We got a great rate for a room with 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch and all three beds were very comfortable. There wasn't a lot of storage in the room for clothes, especially for hanging things up, which made it hard to dry out our coats/ski pants, but the room itself was quite spacious and comfortable. There was a mini fridge, but no microwave. The hotel staff was extremely kind and efficient, check-in and check-out were very easy and the breakfast (included in the price) was really good! Parking is extra, not included in your room rate, but there is also a TRAX stop nearby if you don't have a car, so that is very handy for getting further into town for other restaurants and shops. The TRAX proximity is both a plus and negative - great convenience, but there is a bit of noise from the train rounding the corner from N. Temple to 400 West. Fortunately the light rail doesn't run late into the night so it wasn't that big of a deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience with the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown! Our team strives to provide memorable experiences so I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel rooms and our complimentary breakfast. It is also a pleasure to read that our staff took good care of you. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in SLC

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Very nice room with plenty of space for a larger than average family. The breakfast great with several options that are better than the usual continental breakfast selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and our complimentary breakfast. I hope that you will stay with us next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very excellent hotel. Great room. Not too busy.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We felt very welcomed. Beautiful room. Super-clean and new. Great part of town. The only problem we had was that no one mentioned there was a full breakfast. The nice man, at our checkout, only acknowledged there was a breakfast. I mentioned that I heard nothing about it, and he wasn't concerned that we missed it. But next time I'll be sure to go over the details at check-in. I should have brought it up. Great hotel, though. We are really impressed. I shared pictures with my family, to show the great room we had. We were in town from California to get married. John and Rhea
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Congratulations on your recent wedding! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry our complimentary breakfast was not mentioned to you upon check in. I will do some retraining of our staff so that hopefully won’t happen again. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and should your travels return you to Salt Lake City, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City Utah

The general manager Matthew was an amazing person

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This hotel is very clean very nice rooms top-of-the-line modern interior great safe parking they will help you with any of your needs I will definitely stay here again especially their coffee is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
I am truly humbled to read your recent 5-star review and delighted to know you enjoyed the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and should your travels return you to Salt Lake City, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect location. Comfortable room.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Everything about our stay was nice. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was welcoming and professional. The location was perfect since we were in town for a Jazz game and to see the Temple Square Christmas lights. The only issue was that the bathtub was dirty... The grout lines seemed to have mold or something on them which made the bathroom feel dirty to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting me know that we fell short on our housekeeping in your room. It is through reviews like yours that we learn how we are really doing and where we need to improve. I will take this up with our housekeeping staff immediately. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay, were able to take in a game and to see the Christmas Lights. I hope that you will stay with us next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Convenient location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms & plenty of sitting room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review of the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. I am pleased that you enjoyed our stay with us. I look forward to seeing you next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager