Ratings based on 585 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel close to TRAX station & good breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Room size and suite like arrangement, good location, good breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: The housekeeping incident.
Location: walking distance to Jazz NBA stadium, shopping mall with restaurant, TRAX station.
I like this hotel, good location, good breakfast, big room, friendly front desk staff. There is just one thing. The housekeeping throw away my ski helmet box. I put the box on the sofa, not in or near the trash can. When I come back that afternoon, the box was gone. I called the front desk, and they told me the housekeeping staffs are all gone for the day. The front desk help me the look for it in the housekeeping room, but of course it cannot be found. I don't understand why and how this happened. It's just an empty box I would like to keep so that I can store my helmet easier, not a big deal, but at the same time, from my experience, it should not have happened. That's the only unpleasant incident, other than that, very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great location close to restaurants and Vivant areana. Only complaint was no plates at the free breakfast. I guess that's why it's free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Staff is amazing....very friendly & accomodating. Breakfast was delicious. Better than the average hotel comp breakfast. Great view of the Capitol & Temple from our 6th floor room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Jordan, UT

Good location and worth the money

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The staff and location
Cons:
We stayed here for my husband's birthday. I arranged for a surprise birthday dinner with our kids and this location was perfect. When I mentioned that it was his surprise birthday, they were most gracious and went out of their way to meet our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Vivant Event Center

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The bed and pillows. Best night sleep ever.
Cons: Would have been nice to have an actual lounge.
Location: Great downtown location. Close to many events, City Creek, Gateway, Temple square etc...
Room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Beds were firm, which I love and the pillows were amazing. Some slight noise from Trax if you are put on the West side. Staff was friendly, parking costs 10 extra, 1 block away from the Vivant events center. Breakfast was nice, I have seen better and worse. They did have a counter where you could get a beer or wine... but would not consider it a lounge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The cleaning people came around 4pm when we were back in our room and they were rude trying to come in after I said we needed to get ready, we asked them to come back in 20 minutes and they never came back to clean our room. The room smelled like chlorine the entire time and the heat didn't work at first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Great location when going to a game! Close to shopping!! Love hotel & staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City UT

Great Location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Loved this Hotel!! Located within walking distance of so much!! We went to a concert at the Depot and were in our room with in 10 min of it ending and the next night walked to planetarium and had a plast!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Loved the sitting area in the room. Staff were friendly. Convenient location. Breakfast was good, but didn't have a ton of variety. But everything was fresh and presented very nicely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review of the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and that our staff gave you great customer service. It would be our pleasure to serve you again next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, Steven Diaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Only stayed here for one night but it was comfortable and close to freeway access. Luxurious and affordable rooms with a pretty good breakfast. Front desk staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our complimentary breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back when travel permits. In hospitality, Matthew Kraeling General Manager