Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close and comfy

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: How clean and comfy it is
Nice place to stay this is our second time for emergencies in salt lake and this hotel is our number one choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar City, Utah

On University of Utah grounds

Posted Jan 29, 2017
In the morning at breakfast, I had problems with double vision. The staff escorted me to my room, made sure the phone was near my pillow, and said to ring the front desk if I had any problems. Several minutes later, I DID have problems. An EMT on staff helped. But they had to ring an ambulance. I was in the ER for 4 hours. When I left the hospital provided me with a blanket (I looked like a homeless lady), slippers and a paper shirt. The hotel had been notified, and a van awaited me right outside the ER. As soon as I re-entered the hotel, I heard numerous expressions of caring. As I had travelled to Salt Lake for a medical consultation (which I had missed because I was in the ER) said they would "comp" a second night, if I needed it to re-schedule my appointment. I couldn't, but I really appreciated the offer. When I went into the restaurant after my return, my waitress from breakfast said that she would (out of her own pocket) pay for my lunch. I would recommend this Marriot Hotel to anybody interested in staying in the Salt Lake City area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Cute Hotel by University

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Liked the hotel.. Got a high floor room facing the mountain. Great location!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Salt Lake Hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel and the people were very nice, We had a problem with the heating system in our room and the matteiss was bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
I am not an expert but it appears they have bed bugs. When I took the bug to the front desk they didn't even look at it and said it's just a "beetle" from outside. When I google bed bugs it looks exactly like what was crawling on my pillow. Now they aren't exactly a "dirty" hotel overall so I expected more concern when I brought it up. I asked to be moved to a different Marriott and they said they could only change rooms. Aka they didn't care. Thankfully upon calling Expedia they got a refund for the remainder of the trip and we switched the the Hilton downtown. Not normally brand loyal but I will certainly avoid Marriott for awhile if they are so cuasual about the possibility of bed bugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay with one minute flaw.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The facilities were great. My only complaint is that there was a stain (or something) on the sheets...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ringgold, GA

Wonderful experience!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
I would recommend anyone stay here! It was clean, well managed, and overall enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with with good views and helpful staff.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: A shuttle is available with a friendly and knowledgeable driver but does not go quite far enough into the city to meet the needs of the average guest.
The basic rooms are clean and modern with a microwave, LCD tv, and walk in shower. The gym is better than average with a separate tv on each piece of cardio equipment. A great experience all around - except for the presence of the box elder big. Unfortunately, I had to flush approximately 20 of these beetles down the drain in the two days of my stay in November of 2016.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The location was convenient because it is very close to the University Hospital and also the Hogle Zoo.
Cons: I was disappointed that we had to pay extra for wifi. Our room was adjoined to another and it was not very soundproof. The people next to us kept us awake for most the night. We could hear their alarm going off for over an hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Check wake up calls!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Room always looks very nice
Cons: Have to figure out the bug situation. Warned about bugs and sure enough one fell on my head while in bed. Yicks!
Location: Close to University of Utah. Very convenient to hospital.
I set my wake up call for 7am. My phone rang at 630am. It rang at 7am (my scheduled call), and then rang again at 715am while I was getting ready. Hotel needs to make sure it clears wakeup calls from each room upon check-out. Made me crazy. I picked up the phone each time. Another wake up call, each time I picked up.