Ratings based on 2,652 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Feb 3, 2016
... Small rooms, definitely a 2.5 starts hotel. Breakfast was terrible. Staff were nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel I Have Ever Visited

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
I read bad reviews about hotels and figure people had a bad experience with the staff. But this one is all about the facility. To call this hotel "run down" would be a compliment. It is truly horrible. I had to book the Royal Garden Inn because it was the only hotel left during a very busy convention. Big mistake. My room had the following issues: blood stains on the bathroom walls, stains and burns on the carpet, falling ceiling tiles, dirty bed, screws coming out of the headboards, stained mattress. It was a serious nightmare and I immediately left. Luckily the beautiful Hilton Garden Inn down the street had a cancellation. If the Royal Garden Inn is your last resort for lodging, do yourself a favor and cancel your trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

5 stars for the price

Posted Jan 26, 2016
It's super cheap and perfect location. It's 5 stars for this price point. The renovated section is nice and similar to a comfort Inn. Quiet at night and not a lot of traffic in and out. A few homeless people wander in to the messy breakfast area but I'm fine with that. They at least have waffles, biscuits and gravy, bagels and cereal. No eggs or meat though but what do you expect for less than 50 bucks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
I stayed in this hotel for one day. The hotel is ok, I feel comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location and spacious room are the only perks

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: location, reasonable price, free WiFi
Cons: food quality, food serving utensils, cleanliness, functional business center (printer), TV update, lighting update
Location: excellent access to the University and temple square - downtown activities
while the night staff who greeted us were very patient and friendly, not so much the morning staff, who would not assist with boarding pass print outs and the customer printer was physically broken. Breakfast area was dark, quiet (no TV) and used only non-reusable Styrofoam and plastic materials, very limited offerings and coffee pot was empty. Room was clean and reasonably comfortable. But the overall appearance was rather run down and dirty. Needed some TLC and lighting updates.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Dimas

Don't stay here! Ever!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing! It was dirty and disgusting.
Cons: It needs to be renovated and an exterminator needs to be brought in to spray the whole place. It's crawling with bed bugs!
Location: It's located in downtown Salt Lake about a mile away from the convention center.
I stayed here for 2 nights for the OR Winter Market show and will never come back. It looked old and dirty inside. There were cracks on the doorway in the bathroom and the floor looked like it needed to be scrubbed, also the phone didn't work so you would have to use your cell phone to call the lobby. Wi-fi sucks too, which it made it difficult for me to do my work. The heater rattled when it turned on, so it woke me up a few times during the night. The worse part about the room was the bed. When I pulled the comforter back, I found a few strands of hair and a yellow stain on the right side of the bed. I woke up in the morning to discover I had bed bug bites on my right elbow, underneath my chin and on the top of my head. I regret not getting out of there sooner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2016
The room was really run down, and had some kind of a nasty dried liquid on the wall behind the night stand. It was a dump, and I would never stay there again. I wouldn't have stayed there in the first place if it hadn't been the only hotel near where I needed with a room available. Now I know why.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
This is a very run down hotel in desperate need for update
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
The price is good. However, that does not justify the conditions of this place. I have seen better at cheaper rates. overall a bad experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good amenities, lacks upkeep

Posted Jan 1, 2016
This place is conveniently located to downtown and all highways to the heart of fun in SLC. It is close to the airport too, just 10 mins. The hotel has good breakfast service, staff and lounge. Everything was perfect but the room. Our room had a foul odor, the bathrooms didn't have and exhaust, the ac was terrible in warming or cooling the room, the hallways were stinking. I even saw strange people sitting by the stairs, who certainly weren't residents of the hotel. You definitely get the creeps if you're going to stay here for long. The hotel itself has a year potential but it's just not there yet.