Ratings based on 2,248 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strategic & Convenient

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Size of room - make it bigger and modern facilities/furniture for big families
Location: Salt lake city. Nice to walk nearby.
Strategically located in front of Traxx Stop, just less than 15 mins to airport, 10 mins to Greyhound Bus Station. Has their own shuttle to airport. Comfortable. Convenient to shopping and food, city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel very close to Mormon temple grounds

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to attractions and shopping
Nice hotel very conveniently located. Near major shopping mall and across the street from the Mormon Temple grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoffman Estates, IL

Good hotel for genealogists

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nice hotel with decent but not fancy amenities and very reasonable prices. Extremely close to the Family History Library & Temple Square, and very close to the Salt Palace convention center, the City Creek shopping district, and more. Convenient commuter train stop right in front of the hotel for getting anywhere further away in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Nice hotel right in the center of Salt Lake City.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
This high rise hotel is very conveniently located. Easy walking distance to great restaurants, the Temple area and parks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Tried to cancel, didn't work and got fined.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: Booking cancellations
Location: It's right by the Salt Palace Convention center and City Creek Shopping Center.
I tried to cancel my booking, I was told it was taken care of by the front desk but then later I was charged a late cancellation fee when I didn't show up to the hotel. Their staff did not help when I spoke to them trying to rectify this issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Great location. Everything else is below average.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
This place is in the center of downtown and right next to the temple. The rooms were pretty outdated and poorly configured. It was like staying at your grandmothers old home. It did the job, but nothing to get excited about to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Perfect for our NCAA Basketball Trip

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Clean, comfortable rooms just a short walk from the arena. While we were in SLC for the NCAA games, there was also a Comic Convention going on across the street. It was very entertaining for my teenage children to see so many people dressed up. It was an extremely busy weekend downtown, but the hotel is very quiet while still being close to all the activities. We had a great time and hope to be back! Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

LOUSY TRIP

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hire Americans to do the reservations instead of out of the country people who can't even speak English properly
Location: Next door to the Mormon History Center and across the street from the LDS Temple
My 1st complaint is against Expedia. My name is Albert _ _ _ _ _ not Patricia. For some reason the guy, who lives and works in the Philippines, who took my reservation put the wrong name down on the reservation. Luckily, when I called back, you had a young lady who knew what she was doing and she straightened the problem out quickly. The hotel said that if it had stayed the way it was I would not of had the two rooms that I had already paid for, $1,400 for 6 nights, when I got there. The 2nd complaint is against the Plaza Hotel. When we got our rooms, #1016 & 1018, 1016 smelled up to high heaven and filthy. Bed not made, dirty towels etc scattered all over the place, trash can full, etc. The only thing that was missing in that room was the bugs. They did upgrade rm. 1016 to the next level up, this one had a sofa in it. At least rm. 1018 was clean. My next complaint was that both rooms were right next to the elevators. Room 1016 was on the left side of the elevators and 1018 was on the right side and we could hear the elevators all night and that's not counting having to hear the ice machine all the time. When I complained to the desk people I was told that people who reserve rooms through Expedia etc always get the cheapest rooms. They then told me if I wanted I could always upgrade but it would cost me more. Even though the hotel is right next to the LDS History Center and across the street from the Temple, we will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
It was okay. For how expensive it was, I would have expected a continental breakfast. The staff when I checked it were rather impersonal and cold. The room was great though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown location! Comfortable

Posted Mar 24, 2017
It was a great experience. Check in was easy, parking secured and great location right down town walking to all the shopping and food!