Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Use this for our ski getaways

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Design and room comfort, ease of access to airport and the slopes.
Cons: The restaurant wait staff need better training. Lower the price. Bring in cable so you can watch a movie. You only have access to local stations.
Location: As I have indicated the location is edgy. Nearby are good restaurants and shopping and within a half hour to the slopes.
I have stayed at the Grand America many times and it is the best hotel in SLC. The design and function are exceptional and the views from the east side are excellent. It is an ok location but you have to walk a couple of blocks to get to the main part of downtown. You feel like you are on the edge of the good side of town and the so-so side of town. To the north are shops, fine dining, shopping and entertainment. To the south are tattoo parlors, body shops and pawn shops, but then that is downtown SLC. The staff at the hotel are friendly but not 5 star. At breakfast we had to ask for coffee twice and when it was served it was lukewarm, picky yes but then a 5 star hotel would have been different. At the front desk I have never seen the same desk professional twice and I am always asked if this is my first visit. You would think between the hotel and Expedia there would be a way to identify returning guests. That would be five star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Texas

Nice hotel, centrally located.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Beautiful build. From the architecture, fixtures and furniture to the choices in art, all is placed to create a marvelous atmosphere and ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Friendly staff that was very accommodating. Beautiful hotel convenient to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Smyrna Beach

The Best in Salt Lake City

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We drove into Park City for the Sundance Film Festival (approximately 40-45 minutes away). Easy drive to the SLC airport (about 10 minutes).
The American Grand Hotel is a fabulous hotel. Clean, beautiful, professional staff, and delicious food,--my experience could not have been better! I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

A landmark hotel.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
One of the best hotels I've been in a long time. Very classy, elegant, top shelf service, and really beautiful. You'll feel like a true Gatsby here. Will be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, Wa.

Best hotel in America

Posted Jan 24, 2016
I stayed in this hotel by accident for a business trip. Little did I know that to my surprise this is the most gorgeous hotel I could have ever imagined! It will take your breath away from the moment you open the doors to the lobby. We canceled our plans to go to downtown just so we can explore the hotel and all of its beautiful rooms! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I already have on the next day! I will be back 100%!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, California

Great hotel in downtown SLC.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Top shelf accomodations, amenities and service! Will make this my favorite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Beautiful, elegant, perfect for the holidays!!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
From the moment your doorman opened the doors to the gorgeous foyer with its towering chandelier, enormous flower arrangments, and multiple elegant Christmas trees you knew you were in for something extradorinary. What a difference a 5 star hotel makes!!! It was like stepping into Christmas itself.... Magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Enchanting hotel.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Beautiful hotel with amazing interior, hospitality, very friendly staff. The best hotel we have ever stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel downtown.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Beautiful facilities but the hotel made no provisions for Sunday morning breakfast; unbeknownst to us, they served only brunch at 10:30 am, and could not even tell us at 9am if they could accommodate us, we were told to go get coffee and pastry at the bar in the lobby. They never asked at check in do you want brunch reservations, etc