Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Nice hotel with great amenities

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Amazing spa & salon facility, 24 hour fitness center, beautiful indoor and outdoor pools, 24 hour in-room dining, on-site shopping, restaurant,
Cons: Room definitely needs updating - wallpaper, paint, bathroom fixtures, bedding not so comfortable
Location: Great downtown location close to shopping and restaurants. Transportation available to area attractions and ski areas within a reasonable budget
Very attentive and polite staff, 24 hour room service, down-town location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel. A nice change after roughing it at the national parks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Superb experience Beautiful Hotel and Room Super Staff Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Beautiful hotel BUT !

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Beautiful hotel , great ratings in Expedia , however it is set up mainly for large conferences etc Location does not suit people passing through on vacation , it's not a very safe area. Restaurant food was very poor from the lack of service to the actual food quality, choice of food and restaurant again very poor . If you are attending a conference them great this hotel will be great but !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We always enjoy our stay at the Grand America

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothinggreat stuff
Location: good
Great visit, fun visit, We will come again, great place to get-a way!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in downtown Salt Lake City

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Wine selection. Lobby bar closed at 10pm.
Great, classy hotel. Beautiful lobby, room (stayed in an Executive Suite) was spacious, with a great bathroom and small juliet balcony. Loved the pool area and spa also!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Very nice hotel. Only problem I had was pillows. Close to restaurants. Safe area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy gigantic feel hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Great hotel, staff treats you like royalty. Fast service for bell man, great food, fun toy store for kids. Cookies at check in!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Needs to be updated

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Update finishes
Location: Still areas near the hotel that are run-down and abused. transients frequent the streets and it ill advised to walk south of the hotel
Great once 5 star hotel, but in today's world it lacks the upgraded finishes. 20 years old and finishes reflect that era or older.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Elegant Hotel in downtown Salt Lake City

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness, service.
Cons: The only thing we saw was some dirty dishes on the credenza's outside the hotel rooms would sit for quite awhile.
Location: Right in downtown. Walkable to many restaurants (go to Valter's Osteria!!), malls, electric train stop, and coffee shops (Millcreek Coffee).
We just returned from a weekend stay at the Grand America yesterday after being in a cabin in the woods for four days in southern Utah. We were hot and dusty from hiking and being in the wilderness, so the hotel was very refreshing. Our check-in went very smoothly and all of the staff was very pleasant and wonderfully friendly. The hotel and rooms are very clean and elegantly appointed. Having a sitting room along with a spacious bathroom was heaven with my husband and I and our 22 and 17 year olds. The all marble bathroom had a separate room for the toilet and an extra sink out side of the bathroom, which served us very well when trying to get ready. The hotel room was super quiet. We never heard anyone outside the room or the hotel. The pool area was fantastic. As soon as we sat down on some wonderfully comfortable lounge chairs, a server came out with ice cold water, and later walked around with frozen grapes on a stick and a sample of a peach smoothie. We sat and listened to jazz in the lobby area one night, and had a continental breakfast in the same area the next morning before our rafting trip. The breakfast was very reasonably priced for the type of hotel this is. My daughter loves macaroons and couldn't resist taking some home from "La Bonne Vie Patisserie". They were delicious! All in all a very pleasant experience at the Grand America Hotel. We would definitely return!