Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great experience.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very fancy hotel with very tasty breakfast buffet and nicely renovated workout and spa facilities. Only mild drawback is $10 daily fee to use indoor pool/spa area however I can tell there was probably a high cost to renovate these so the fee is understandable and appropriate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

5 star Salt Lake City

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Highly recommended. Close proximity to fine dining, excellent shopping and directly across from public transportation ( take green line trolley directly from airport and you are there in 20 mins.) Also great spa services with indoor and outdoor pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty but poor comfort.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We traveled to Salt Lake with our 3 children, ages 1-15. We were excited to stay in a five star hotel and expected that would encompass a comfortable room and comfortable beds. Unfortunitly, our room was so hot and the air would come on. The beds were hard and the bedding was stiff. We called housekeeping and requested a crib the night we arrived, over an hour later they still had not come. We called again and they said they showed it was already delivered. After our first night stay we went into the city and came back at 3:00 to rest before dinner. Housekeeping never came and cleaned our room. We called the front desk and they had no idea why our room was not attended to. They sent housekeeping up and they cleaned while we were in the room. We came back at 11pm and needed botteled water for our baby's bottles. The lounge would not sell us water because they just counted their register, the said we could buy water at the bar, but we could not bring our 2 sleeping kids in there. The front desk told us we could get water in the minibar in our room, but there was NO minibar, it was completely empty. I have never found it this hard to get a bottle of water, especially at a 5 star hotel. Many hotels would have provided us with a complimentary water, or even billed our room. Besides paying a lot of money for no sleep in a hot room, on a hard bed, the lobby lounge is very beautiful and the Orchestra band was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by The Grand America Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your recent family trip to Salt Lake. Our team strives every hour of each day to exceed expectations and create Grand Experiences. I am very sorry that we failed to do this during your visit and regret that you and your family had an unpleasant stay. I have shared your review with our leadership team. Please know that we take your concerns very seriously, and will utilize your feedback during our training as we work to improve our overall guest experience. We hope to earn another opportunity to gain your trust. Until then, my team and I remain at your service. Kind Regards, Chris Erickson Hotel Manager The Grand America Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Joke

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The staff was not truthful! I prepaid for my stay, my credit card already charged days before my arrival and was still displaced by this hotel "due" to overbooking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by The Grand America Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, We are terribly sorry for the experience you had with us. We are regretful about the events that transpired and know that we caused discomfort for you. I am hopeful that we can rectify this for you and please know that we have reached out to Expedia directly to process a refund. Again, I am very sorry for your experience and hope that we can regain your trust in the future. Kind Regards, Annie Fitzgerald I Director of Guest Experience The Grand America Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The room was spacious and comfortable.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The best part of my stay was the comfort of the room. We slept with the sliding glass door open--Cool air and beautiful city lights during the night and great views of the mountains in the morning.
Cons: Everything was absolutely perfect! Nothing could have been better. I wouldn't change anything about my stay.
Location: Shopping at City Creek.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxuriöses stilvolles Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: An der Hauptstrasse gelegen ist Downtown nur wenige Blocks entfernt und leicht zu Fuss zu erreichen.
Wir hatten ein sehr komfortabel ausgestattetes Zimmer mit 2 King Size Betten, einem sehr grosszügigen eleganten Badebereich und Blick auf die Berge. Nichts hat gefehlt. Das Continental Breakfast in der sehr hübschen und sonnendurchfluteten Lobby wie auch das Frühstücksbuffet im Garden Restaurant waren ausgezeichnet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything is simply first class

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It's beautiful grounds
Cons: Coffee maker in rooms
Location: Close to all SLC and Utah have to offer.
We stay here every time we visit SLC and Utah. If you want to experience a first class hotel, this is it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island,NY

Convenient to downtown and a beautiful hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location close to free train stop and five minutes from downtown.
Outstanding staff,very helpful,friendly,and available.Room was well appointed and very clean. Just a lovely visit. Will go back at first opportunity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First class in every respect.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: A real contrast to the hotels oriented to young business travelers. A gracious, quality stay.
Cons: Hotel has a nice lounge bar and some quality shops, they are in side halls and little is done to bring them to your attention
Location: Convenient to city center by free light rail
Surprisingly gracious, quiet and quality in all ways.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlesville OK

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel was more than I ever expected.. Will be returning next year!!