Ratings based on 1,879 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay, CA

Not quite what I Envisioned

Posted May 18, 2017
I was disapointed by our experience at the Peery Hotel in Salt Lake City this past week. The main lobby and common spaces are beautifully done, and the hotel was neat and tidy. Staff were friendly, although not always available (valet parking was an issue although there was no one else waiting). The room was adequate, but the sink being in the main bedroom area rather than the bathroom was a bit inconvenient. Also, the sink is so small that it's hard not to make a mess when one is simply brushing teeth. The bathroom could have been cleaner, and there was only 1 washcloth, two towels and one teeny tiny bit of soap for both the sink and the bath/shower. (Did I mention the sink is NOT in the bathroom). Toilet paper roll was at about 25 percent, and there was not another to be found. There were two of us booked for this room. Not nearly enough of any of the toiletries. All in all not a tragic experience by any means, but not a good one considering we paid to stay there. Will likely book somewhere else when next we are in SLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in SLC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Fully renovated historic hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent value for the money. Beautifully renovated, clean and spacious, centrally located downtown, walking distance from light rail (2 blocks), restaurants, banks, and Temple Square. Good on-site restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

Brief Stay before heading off to the airport.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel has great character and has been tastefully updated. Beautiful lobby and great service from the staff.
Cons: The bathroom was very small.
Location: The location was perfect. Close enough to the airport, with restaurants and bars nearby.
We booked our stay at the hotel for an evening before heading off to the airport and home. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great night's sleep

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Best night's sleep in a month of travelling. Affordable.
Lovely ambience and decoration. Fantastic mattresses (memory foam). Close to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our TempurPedic mattresses and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hot and Dirty.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: It's very beautiful and the old fixtures and style has been preserved.
Cons: Fix AC and fans so they aren't loud, clean sheets and towels better, make sure wi-fi is available in all rooms and please add new mattresses.
Location: Peery is centrally located and you can easily walk to great restaurants and shops.
The Peery has undergone some remodeling in the last few years and is a beautiful hotel; however, they haven't remodeled or updated any of the infrastructure.The bathroom fans and the AC in the rooms are intensely loud. I had to keep the AC on since the room was nearly 80 degrees but was unable to fall asleep since it sounded like there was a car engine being revved inside the wall. The windows do not open in any of the rooms so we were unable to get any sort of fresh air after turning the AC off. After changing rooms in hope of a quieter experience, the AC in the second room was actually louder and I had to purchase earplugs from the front desk. Needless to say, earplugs should be complimentary at this hotel. The second distressing thing my husband and I found in both rooms is that the sheets and towels were far from clean. Maybe the Peery needs to upgrade their washing machines but there were many long and short dark hairs covering the bed sheets and towels. Not a nice experience to dry off after showering and find a stranger's hairs stuck to your body. Also, changing rooms to the east-side of the hotel (the side facing Temple), we had absolutely no internet conne The mattresses are also quite bad. Foam is a great option but the foam mattresses at the Peery are of the too soft, sink-into type and we ended up engulfed by the mattress, sweating through the night. Sadly, the whole experience was uncomfortable and we won't be staying with the Peery until they make some updates.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will be using it to improve the services and amenities we provide to our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with an exceptional experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel is historic....so there are issues

Posted May 2, 2017
But they are working hard to upgrade and it is worth it.....like visiting Europe......we loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Piece of Europe in SLC

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I always select to stay here when I'm working in SLC and it reminds me of my favorite hotel in New York or Paris. The hotel is newly renovated and the cutest! Cozy white bathrobes, well decorated (amazing design), comfortable bed, incredible staff. The only downside: the on site restaurant has a huge disappointment for their breakfast (too salty to make up for the lack of flavor) so you have to venture out to find something to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We will be using your feedback to improve the services and amenities we offer to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Staff was great and was very clean.
Cons: The little store had nothing in it. If you wanted to get a quick Soda they did not have one. The Restaurant was good but slow and pricey.
Location: great location, close to down town, the University, Easy drive from airport
Room Clean, Location Great, Staff was excellent. For the price all was good. The room was a little on the small side. Does not have all the Amenities of a big chain like the Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Historic Peery Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the net time you are in SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Bed was awesome. Lobby decor. Friendly staff.
Hotel has been updated and is very stylish. The room was beautifully decorated but quite small. To quote my husband "there isn't a whole lot of room for activities." However, it was clean and the bed was awesome. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami

Newly renovated good looking hotel with nice room

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Room: clean/nice decoration/spacy Lobby: cool style
Cons: Restaurant: slow, breakfast price is not clear
Location: Restaurant cross the street is beer brewer and serves till late
Hotel stuff is very nice and lobby and room are very nice and clean. Valet parking is very convenient, But restaurant is little slow for breakfast on business days. and breakfast drink price is not very clear.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We will be using your feedback to improve the service we provide in the restaurant. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!