Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

The Peery Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Beds, TV sets, the staff, early morning coffee and water all day ( a real must in SLC in the summer) and location in the city.
Cons: Repair room facilities
Location: Temple Square, shopping, The Great Salt Lake, restaurants aplenty.
The hotel is nice and perfectly located, and the staff is very good (responsive). The air conditioning worked very poorly and so we had to change rooms. Also in our first room, the toilet was not secure; it was wobbly which didn't have us upset just noticed it. The second room's shower head was also loose and not easy to use. I loved our queen-sized bed and the TV set. They have USB ports which was convenient but we couldn't stream on our devices. They had available coffee early (5::30 am) which we greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good
Cons: good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good
Location: good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good
good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good good very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A Beautiful Place With Character

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The elegant design and furnishings. As a historic hotel, it has been well-maintained. The staff were very professional and helpful.
Cons: Not require a change in rooms during a stay, if possible.
Location: Two blocks from the Salt Palace, City Creek Shopping Center, and light rail
This historic hotel has been well cared for, and the accommodations were very comfortable. A couple of pieces of exercise equipment were out of service, but there were enough available to work out on. I had to change rooms because of scheduled plumbing work; they gave me ample notice, and both rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was included in my reservation, and was nice for an all-inclusive breakfast. The staff were very professional and helpful, as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Guest Service Agent, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your review of our historic hotel, we do our best to maintain and improve the character of our hotel , we are glad you found our staff helpful and professional. reviews like yours is helps us improve, we hope to serve you in the future Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely historic hotel in centre of town

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Lovely historic hotel in centre of town with big rooms, modern and clean. Friendly helpful staff. Easy parking on street in front or next door in public lot. We really liked the Peery and would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your ecstatic review of our hotel. we are glad your stay was effortless, we hope you will stay with us on your future adventures to salt lake city Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Overall loved this hotel, however the Ice Machine on our floor was broken and half the equipment in their gym was too. The staff was very very nice and helpful and the room was super cute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Morning first and foremost thank you for your review of the hotel, we have taken active steps to address the concerns you've expressed. we've installed a new ice machine and new treadmills are on their way, we hope you will stay with us on future visits to salt lake city. Warmest Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice restoration

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Restored, not remodeled and modernized.
Cons: The fixtures in the bathroom were too cheap.
This is an old hotel with a lot of history that has recently undergone a remodel. Not everything is completely finished, and some of the updates are a little cheap, but nonetheless the overall effect is lovely. What really impressed me about the hotel was the staff: when we arrived, one of our rooms was supposed to have two beds but somehow it got reserved as a King bed. As I was a mother traveling with a teen age son, it was important to have two beds. The person at the front desk worked some magic and upgraded us to a suite without charging extra. That was terrific customer service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Guest Service Agent, Hotel Management
Good Evening Madam. We are glad your experience at our hotel met and exceeded your expectations, we work hard to make sure every guest is happy and comfortable. we hope to see you on your next visit to salt lake city. Warmest Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved Salt Lake City

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: It was charming and I loved the details
Location: We were within walking distance to several wonderful restaurants and bistros. We enjoyed out stay at the Peery.
Even though the hotel was undergoing renovations, the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed out stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Jesse , Hotel Management
Good morning Thank you for such a great review. We are glad we were able to make your stay in salt lake city, comfortablr and enjoyable. Our staff do their best to insure every guest stay is peery perfect. Our renovations are nearly complete. We hope to serve in the future. Warmest regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peery fail.

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful staff! Thanks Ian and James for trying to make a bad stay better. I booked the King Suite with the jetted tub. The room was just remodeled and nice but the jetted tub did not work. After waiting for maintenance and many visits from hotel staff the jet tub was never working. Should have just had a king room, the price would have been better. There was construction going on (even though when I booked I asked specifically if the construction would be finished and they said yes)so I never even got to see the lobby, only the basement where they have check in. There was one slow and small elevator was filled with workers and boxes and dust. The stairs were blocked off so in case of a fire I would have been screwed. To work off the frustration from the stay (since I couldn't use the jetted tub) I wanted to use the gym but there were 4 guys and cords and boxes scattered about, installing new cable. Fail. I REALLY wish I had stayed somewhere else. Waist of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for the review of our Historic Boutique hotel, We appreciate your patience and understanding as we undergo our great renovation efforts in the over 100 years. we apologize that your stay was less than memorable. we are glad you found our Guest Service staff helpful and accommodating. please give the Peery a second chance to make a first impression. our renovations should be completed at the end of May. we hope to serve you on your adventures to our lovely city Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by Linda M from Palmee, Alaska

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the hotel, but only wished we had known it was under renovation. Our room was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for reviewing our hotel. i hope your stay was enjoyable and memorable. we are glad you found your accommodations beautiful. thank you for your patience and understanding as we complete our renovations. we will do better to communicate the status of the hotel in the future. Warmest Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Salt Lake City conferernce

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Service was great when hotel policy allowed, I feel that folks wanted to help but were not allowed.
Cons: If someone shows up early, expedite a room cleaning for them to set their bags down and relax prior to official check in time.
1. Hotel was under renovation, but not announced upon reservation. 2. Arrived early at noon, but was told that there was no possible way to a room could be ready before 3pm. It was suggested that I walk around the city for 3 hours rather than expediting a room cleaning (my co-worker had the same experience the previous day). 3. No filtered water source. 4. Re-modeled rooms were nicely done, but in my first room (before I was moved) the sink was 4" from the toilet which was blocking the shower. I had to sit on the toilet to shuffle over to the shower. I asked to move and was moved to another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Jesse Guest Service Agent., Hotel Management
Good Morning We grow from these reviews and have taken steps to address your concerns. thank you for choosing the historic Peery hotel, we appreciate your patience and understanding as we complete our renovations. we hope to serve you in the future. our grand reopening is at the end of may. Warmest Regards