Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Disappointing

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: inspection of rooms equipment working adequately.
The hotel itself is nicely located and has the historical flavor, and the staff were pleasant. However the heating system had a "loose coil" apparently and it sounded like I was sleeping in the propeller of an airplane. They were kind enough to discount my room rate, however you can't replace a decent night sleep. The lobby was cold and the fireplace didn't work
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Historic Peery Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with an exceptional experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills, MI

Nice quiet hotel conveniently located.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It a comfortable 1-1/2 block walk to the convention center, and 2-1/2 block walk to the Family History Library and Temple Square.
Location: I took the Trax from the airport and walked one short block to the hotel. There is a PF Chang right next door.
Nice historic boutique hotel, it is small and quiet. The room and bed were comfortable and clean. There is an adjoining restaurant and bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of the historic Peery Hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Charming but HOT!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel. Nicely renovated.
Cons: Better communication about AC/heat unti.
Old school hotel that has been nicely renovated. Beautiful lobby area. Nice sized room with 2 queen memory foam beds. Nice touch! Tiny bathroom. Shower won't accommodate anyone taller than 6'3" without bending down. I'd rate the hotel and room itself a 3.5 if not for the issue we had and the lack of help by the staff. Issue is this: the thermostat in the room doesn't switch between heat and A/C and there's no notification by the staff or in the room itself. We turned on the A/C to adjust the temperature to 70 and a few hours later it was 80 degrees in the room. Called the front desk and their response was that only one system - heat or A/C - works at a time and they're on heat. So you can't adjust the room temperature to your liking. Their "solution" to our 80 degree room was one box fan that did nothing but circulate warm air. When we woke up this morning it was still 79 degrees in the room. No offer to move us to another room. Horrible!!! I tried to speak to a manager this morning at checkout around 9 am and was told she wasn't in yet. Really? No manager on duty at 9 am??? Bottom line: while this hotel has old school charm and a rich history, it's NOT worth $200 to sleep in a hot room. Will choose another hotel next time in SLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Peery Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and give us another opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic downtown hotel.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Historic downtown hotel with charm and character. Walk across the street to brew pub or down the block to great restaurants. Salt lake is a very walking friendly city so enjoy this downtown location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Not too bad

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Everything was fantastic except the cleaning staff. They were not awful, I guess I was annoyed at the fact that they moved my stuff around a lot. I understand they have to keep everything tidy, but why move my things from the side table to the desk? They should only be making my bed, emptying the garbage and replacing my used towels. No need to touch my belongings on the side table and desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Your feedback will be used to improve the training and service provided by our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time you are visiting SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to downtown area

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: I couldn't get the heater to work in the room. It seemed permanently set at 68 and we couldn't make it any warmer despite adjusting the thermostat.
Location: Terrific location. I picked this hotel b/c it's walking distance to my favorite restaurant in the area, Walter's Osteria, and other downtown spots.
The hotel was overall pleasing. You can tell it was built 100 years ago, but it has been updated and the age of it just adds to the overall charm and "boutique-ness" of the hotel. Room sizes are large. Location is great. Breakfast in the partner restaurant was good too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Peery Hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Quite stay.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Quick friendly check-in! Room was just as described. Very quite and cozy overnight stay. Close to good restaurants. My favorite thing was the comfy bed! I slept better than I do in my own bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great potential, needs work

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Good: luxury qualities, happy employees, excellent location. Bad: couldn't tell the rooms were that small from online pictures, booked through Expedia but was charged by the hotel too and now have to travel the next 5 to 7 days with over 300$ in pending charges with questionable reassurance they will wash. Front desk needs more training. Couldn't explain how it happened. Should have never been charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the mistake made during your stay. We will be using your feedback to improve the training of our employees. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Favorite Hotel in SLC

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: I like the charm, uniqueness and comfortable beds. The location is pretty good too. Reception staff was quick to help with housekeeping issues.
Cons: Parking could be improved - but that's not Peery's issue. I wish they offered a 12 hour option. (10 & 24 now). Snow removal was slow here - car stuck.
Location: This isn't close by Temple Square or City Creek Mall, but is walkable in good weather. Plenty of bars/restaurants close.
We stayed at the Peery for five nights around Christmas 2016. I love the charm and old-time atmosphere of this hotel as well as the very comfortable beds. I kind of liked the pre-renovated Peery better than I like the darker decor now, but it's still nice. The reception staff is friendly and helpful and coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold water are always available in the beautiful lobby. Breakfast is no longer free but you can go to their hotel and purchase a breakfast. I never did so because the restaurant was always empty and didn't really appeal to me for some reason. I did buy a bowl of soup and desert to take to my room and the desert, a raspberry cream concoction, was rich & excellent, but the tomato bisque soup was salty and unremarkable. The maid service I had this time wasn't up to what I've normally experienced at this hotel - stingy with wash cloths, shampoo/soap and didn't remove dirty cups. I usually leave a tip, but didn't on this occasion. However, the main pain at staying at this hotel is the parking. You do have to factor in the cost when considering this hotel, but it's still a good deal even adding the parking. Peery is my hotel when I go to Salt Lake City because I like unique and charming places a little off the beaten path - but not too far off the path!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Often I have trouble sleeping on an unusual bed, but this bed was memory foam, and i sank right into it. It was nice and cozy and located within walking distance of much. A free tram comes by for places a bit further out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our TempurPedic beds!