Ratings based on 1,899 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Historic gem, superb location in centre of town

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The Peery is a historic gem, beautifully refurbished, comfortable and quiet, yet very central location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in adjoining bar/restaurant was excellent. Great microbrewery restaurant just across the road. Heaps more character and style that the generic hotel chains! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington DC

The hotel is ok

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I normally stay at the Hotel Monaco but decided to try Hotel Peery. First impression of the lobby was good and the staff appeared friendly enough. Upon entering the room, the story changes. I requested and paid for a king sized bed but got a queen. The room was dark (color wise) and the furniture was oversized for the room - except the TV which was small. The bathroom was adequate but bland. The towel rack for the shower was above the toilet - ewwww - and not convenient to the shower. Had to have 3 different room keys made as each one before failed to work. With just a small amount of attention to these seemingly inconsequential things could rate them a much better score not only with me but other guests as well I'm sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will be using it to improve the services and amenities we offer to our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with an exceptional experience the next time you are in SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location and the unique style are great!

Posted May 31, 2017
The staff were awesome, the location was perfect and the cleanliness and charm were on point. The only complaint at all, was the shower. I am a very small person and I stayed at this hotel alone, but had I been traveling with my significant other, he would have not really even be able to use it. If you are a big, tall person, or have trouble being confined, you will find that the shower is going to be extremely claustrophobic. I could barely move around myself. The rest of the hotel and amenities were great, but the shower is really way too small and the water pressure is pretty abysmal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Clean and Comfortable

Posted May 29, 2017
Upon entering I knew it would be a good place. Kind staff good food at the restaurant and loved their lattes. The room wasn't large but it was perfect and a perfect price too. I was exhausted from biz conf and they delivered my dinner to my room. The staff are very supportive and eager to assist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A refreshing oasis in the City of Salt

Posted May 28, 2017
This hotel was aesthetically appealing, very clean, AND gave us passes to get a discounted breakfast at the neighboring restaurant that was very delish. Still not sure if it's haunted or not though...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay, CA

Not quite what I Envisioned

Posted May 18, 2017
I was disapointed by our experience at the Peery Hotel in Salt Lake City this past week. The main lobby and common spaces are beautifully done, and the hotel was neat and tidy. Staff were friendly, although not always available (valet parking was an issue although there was no one else waiting). The room was adequate, but the sink being in the main bedroom area rather than the bathroom was a bit inconvenient. Also, the sink is so small that it's hard not to make a mess when one is simply brushing teeth. The bathroom could have been cleaner, and there was only 1 washcloth, two towels and one teeny tiny bit of soap for both the sink and the bath/shower. (Did I mention the sink is NOT in the bathroom). Toilet paper roll was at about 25 percent, and there was not another to be found. There were two of us booked for this room. Not nearly enough of any of the toiletries. All in all not a tragic experience by any means, but not a good one considering we paid to stay there. Will likely book somewhere else when next we are in SLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in SLC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Fully renovated historic hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Excellent value for the money. Beautifully renovated, clean and spacious, centrally located downtown, walking distance from light rail (2 blocks), restaurants, banks, and Temple Square. Good on-site restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

Brief Stay before heading off to the airport.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel has great character and has been tastefully updated. Beautiful lobby and great service from the staff.
Cons: The bathroom was very small.
Location: The location was perfect. Close enough to the airport, with restaurants and bars nearby.
We booked our stay at the hotel for an evening before heading off to the airport and home. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great night's sleep

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Best night's sleep in a month of travelling. Affordable.
Lovely ambience and decoration. Fantastic mattresses (memory foam). Close to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our TempurPedic mattresses and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hot and Dirty.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: It's very beautiful and the old fixtures and style has been preserved.
Cons: Fix AC and fans so they aren't loud, clean sheets and towels better, make sure wi-fi is available in all rooms and please add new mattresses.
Location: Peery is centrally located and you can easily walk to great restaurants and shops.
The Peery has undergone some remodeling in the last few years and is a beautiful hotel; however, they haven't remodeled or updated any of the infrastructure.The bathroom fans and the AC in the rooms are intensely loud. I had to keep the AC on since the room was nearly 80 degrees but was unable to fall asleep since it sounded like there was a car engine being revved inside the wall. The windows do not open in any of the rooms so we were unable to get any sort of fresh air after turning the AC off. After changing rooms in hope of a quieter experience, the AC in the second room was actually louder and I had to purchase earplugs from the front desk. Needless to say, earplugs should be complimentary at this hotel. The second distressing thing my husband and I found in both rooms is that the sheets and towels were far from clean. Maybe the Peery needs to upgrade their washing machines but there were many long and short dark hairs covering the bed sheets and towels. Not a nice experience to dry off after showering and find a stranger's hairs stuck to your body. Also, changing rooms to the east-side of the hotel (the side facing Temple), we had absolutely no internet conne The mattresses are also quite bad. Foam is a great option but the foam mattresses at the Peery are of the too soft, sink-into type and we ended up engulfed by the mattress, sweating through the night. Sadly, the whole experience was uncomfortable and we won't be staying with the Peery until they make some updates.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will be using it to improve the services and amenities we provide to our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with an exceptional experience!