Ratings based on 1,750 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

A Beautiful Place With Character

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The elegant design and furnishings. As a historic hotel, it has been well-maintained. The staff were very professional and helpful.
Cons: Not require a change in rooms during a stay, if possible.
Location: Two blocks from the Salt Palace, City Creek Shopping Center, and light rail
This historic hotel has been well cared for, and the accommodations were very comfortable. A couple of pieces of exercise equipment were out of service, but there were enough available to work out on. I had to change rooms because of scheduled plumbing work; they gave me ample notice, and both rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was included in my reservation, and was nice for an all-inclusive breakfast. The staff were very professional and helpful, as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Guest Service Agent, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your review of our historic hotel, we do our best to maintain and improve the character of our hotel , we are glad you found our staff helpful and professional. reviews like yours is helps us improve, we hope to serve you in the future Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely historic hotel in centre of town

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Lovely historic hotel in centre of town with big rooms, modern and clean. Friendly helpful staff. Easy parking on street in front or next door in public lot. We really liked the Peery and would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your ecstatic review of our hotel. we are glad your stay was effortless, we hope you will stay with us on your future adventures to salt lake city Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Overall loved this hotel, however the Ice Machine on our floor was broken and half the equipment in their gym was too. The staff was very very nice and helpful and the room was super cute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Morning first and foremost thank you for your review of the hotel, we have taken active steps to address the concerns you've expressed. we've installed a new ice machine and new treadmills are on their way, we hope you will stay with us on future visits to salt lake city. Warmest Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice restoration

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Restored, not remodeled and modernized.
Cons: The fixtures in the bathroom were too cheap.
This is an old hotel with a lot of history that has recently undergone a remodel. Not everything is completely finished, and some of the updates are a little cheap, but nonetheless the overall effect is lovely. What really impressed me about the hotel was the staff: when we arrived, one of our rooms was supposed to have two beds but somehow it got reserved as a King bed. As I was a mother traveling with a teen age son, it was important to have two beds. The person at the front desk worked some magic and upgraded us to a suite without charging extra. That was terrific customer service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Guest Service Agent, Hotel Management
Good Evening Madam. We are glad your experience at our hotel met and exceeded your expectations, we work hard to make sure every guest is happy and comfortable. we hope to see you on your next visit to salt lake city. Warmest Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved Salt Lake City

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: It was charming and I loved the details
Location: We were within walking distance to several wonderful restaurants and bistros. We enjoyed out stay at the Peery.
Even though the hotel was undergoing renovations, the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed out stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Jesse , Hotel Management
Good morning Thank you for such a great review. We are glad we were able to make your stay in salt lake city, comfortablr and enjoyable. Our staff do their best to insure every guest stay is peery perfect. Our renovations are nearly complete. We hope to serve in the future. Warmest regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Salt Lake City conferernce

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Service was great when hotel policy allowed, I feel that folks wanted to help but were not allowed.
Cons: If someone shows up early, expedite a room cleaning for them to set their bags down and relax prior to official check in time.
1. Hotel was under renovation, but not announced upon reservation. 2. Arrived early at noon, but was told that there was no possible way to a room could be ready before 3pm. It was suggested that I walk around the city for 3 hours rather than expediting a room cleaning (my co-worker had the same experience the previous day). 3. No filtered water source. 4. Re-modeled rooms were nicely done, but in my first room (before I was moved) the sink was 4" from the toilet which was blocking the shower. I had to sit on the toilet to shuffle over to the shower. I asked to move and was moved to another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Jesse Guest Service Agent., Hotel Management
Good Morning We grow from these reviews and have taken steps to address your concerns. thank you for choosing the historic Peery hotel, we appreciate your patience and understanding as we complete our renovations. we hope to serve you in the future. our grand reopening is at the end of may. Warmest Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Currently under construction

Posted May 2, 2016
The hotel smells like fumes, is very loud and dirty from all the construction. Disappointed with my stay, if you go make sure it's after renovations are done.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Good Morning First and Foremost thank you for choosing our hotel. we appreciate your input and patience as we renovate and transition into a new, better hotel. it is regrettable that you found your stay disappointing. please give us a second chance at a first impression after our renovations are completed, which will be at the end of may. Warmest Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui HI

hotel in the heart of salt lake city

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: the customer service and its location to center city
Cons: improvements are under way and once complete should be nice
Location: u
the hotel was in the midst of a major remodel at the time of our stay. we were not aware of this when we booked the room. because of this the hotel services were minimal. Our room was nice and fairly spacious but lacked any comfortable place to sit. This is an old hotel and the bathroom was very small especially for tall people. It was very difficult to use. When I spoke with the front desk about the problems, they did their best to remedy the situation by moving us to a larger room. The guest manager listened and helped accordingly. I would not return to this hotel until the renovations are complete as the guest facilities are almost nil at this point. Once complete I am sure the hotel will be a nice place to stay in the city as it is within walking distance of many attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Good Morning We appreciate your input and will actively work to address your concerns. we are glad you found our location and customer service Exemplary. we hope to serve you once our renovations are completed at the end of may. thank you for your review of our hotel Warmest Regards
3 out of 5
by Ryan

Not bad, but not great

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
They failed to mention that the lobby was under construction, and that the free breakfast was at a restaurant a block away from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you for your patience and understanding while we undergo renovations. we are doing our best to accommodate our guest, due to both restaurants being renovated, we are serving breakfast off site. please visit us after our grand reopening at the end of May. we hope to serve you in the future Warmest Refards
5 out of 5
by Mark

Beautiful

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Although the hotel is under extensive renovation, we stayed in the newly renovated wing and it is gorgeous. They are doing a fantastic job of renovating one of Salt Lake City's grand old ladies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Trisha, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Thank you for Review our hotel, we appreciate your patience and understanding during this monumental change of the Peery hotel. we are glad you found your stay comfortable. we hope to serve you on your next adventure to Salt lake city. Warmest Regards