Ratings based on 1,718 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui HI

hotel in the heart of salt lake city

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: the customer service and its location to center city
Cons: improvements are under way and once complete should be nice
Location: u
the hotel was in the midst of a major remodel at the time of our stay. we were not aware of this when we booked the room. because of this the hotel services were minimal. Our room was nice and fairly spacious but lacked any comfortable place to sit. This is an old hotel and the bathroom was very small especially for tall people. It was very difficult to use. When I spoke with the front desk about the problems, they did their best to remedy the situation by moving us to a larger room. The guest manager listened and helped accordingly. I would not return to this hotel until the renovations are complete as the guest facilities are almost nil at this point. Once complete I am sure the hotel will be a nice place to stay in the city as it is within walking distance of many attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

80 degree room

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Antique decorations, huge room plus separate room, staff nice.
Cons: Room way too hot, could hear people walking up and down the stairs all night. No breakfast. Have to pay for parking.
Hotel decor was nice but the hotel condition was way outdated. Our room was 79 degrees when we checked in so we turned the a/c on. It only got hotter so I tried calling the front desk but the phone didn't work. I went to the front desk and they said since it was April it was still considered winter so only the heater worked. Their system is so old the can only have heat or cooling. So they brought up a fan. We stayed two miserable nights and the room never got below 80 degrees. The windows did not open so it was very hot and stuffy. Hard to sleep. Had to ask for shampoo. The room was nice and had a separate sitting room. The tub was a jet tub but when I tried to use it part of the jet came off. Overall it would have been OK if not so hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Morning. We appreciate your review of our hotel, at the Peery we strive to make your stay Memorable and Enjoyable. our A/C system is up and running. it was regrettable that your experience with the temperature in your room was less than desired. we hope to serve you on a future day. Warmest Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: none
Cons: keep the promises
hotel sold my reservation to someone else........nothing else to add
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon. Thank you for reviewing our hotel, circumstances might have caused us to make accommodations for you else where. it is unfortunate that you were unable to experience the historic charm of the Peery Hotel. we hope to serve you in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Charming place in Downtown.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Great downtown location. Walking distance to many needs. Hassle free and reasonably priced parking lot. Cozy lobby area for relaxing and conversation
Cons: I did not appreciate being charged for checking in early on the actual day of my stay. I arrived at 10:00am, check in was 3:00pm
Location: Restaurants, shopping, banks, entertainment
Overall a very nice place to stay. Very friendly staff! Jesse at the front desk was very hospitable. This is an older hotel that is experiencing a renovation. The rooms are small but efficient. Unfortunately, I was unable to use the air conditioning during an unseasonable warm spell. Only heat available in early April. Also unfortunate was the closure of the on site restaurant due to renovations. However, the hotel did provide complimentary breakfast at a nearby cafe. Very much appreciated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. as a salt lake tradition since 1910 we strive to make each guest's stay memorable and enjoyable. we are glad your found your stay enjoyable, we hope to serve you on future visit to salt lake city. Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2016
We only stayed one night but loved the room. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by Jesse Guest Service Agent., Hotel Management
Good Evening. We Appreciate your review of our hotel. we work hard as a team to make your stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible. we hope to serve you again when you choose to visit salt lake again.. Sincerely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stratford

Great Location for Salt Palace

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location and comfortable bed.
Location: Close to Salt Palace convention center, across the road from a micro brewery pub with great food. Very central to everything.
The hotel was under construction when we were there so no restaurant but they gave coupons to a local cafe for breakfast. The location was great for everything we were in Salt Lake to do. The beds were Temporpedic I think - or some other memory foam and were incredibly comfortable. Being a "boutique hotel" the rooms are small but they had everything needed and were nicely appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for such an informative review of our hotel, it is great that you found our historic boutique hotel comfortable and our location convenient. we apologize for our renovation during your stay and hope to serve you again after our renovations are completed in May Warm Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Smaller than expected

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Location in downtown is near many sites we wanted to visit
Location: Government building and Mormon Temple are both nearby and worth visiting to photograph the architecture
The hotel room is way smaller than i was rxpecting based on the photos provided. However, room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is currently completing renovations, and while they try to minimize the noise, it still causes a racket. Front desk staff at check in were extremely friendly and helpful, but the staff at checkout had a poor attitude and acyed like speaking to guests was beneath him.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon. We appreciate and thank you for review our boutique historic hotel, we are glad you found our location convenient, and our Guest Service Agent friendly and helpful, thank you for patience and understanding while we are renovating our hotel, we hope to serve you again should you return to salt lake city Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Historic Hotel.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms.
Cons: In process of renovation but we knew that.
Location: Great location. We walked to Capitol building. Beautiful inside. We walked to a free noon organ concert at the Tabernacle. Highly recommend
Historic Hotel with grand centrally located staircase. Checking in was easy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was on an upper floor and we had a nice view of Salt Lake are. Room was very comfortable. Close to the sites. Recommend organ concert at Tabernacle, The public library (great views from up top) and the Capitol building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing! We love to hear that you had a great stay! We hope to see you again after our renovations are complete in May. Warmest regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was construction.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
9am sharp there was so much banging you could not have possibly slept. Maybe soon the noise will be over and the place will look better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing. We apologize for any inconvenience that our renovations may have caused. We hope as well that all of the noise pays off. We are very excited about the upcoming changes, and we hope that you will visit us again after the renovations are complete. Warmest regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging hotel undergoing significant work.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Old room with peeling wallpaper, intermittent loss of hot water, and constant banging construction noise from 8 AM to 6 PM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Peery Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our timeless hotel, we are currently undergoing renovation that will address your concerns. it is unfortunate that your stay was less than pleasant Our renovations will be completed in April of this year, we hope to better serve you in the future Warm Regards