Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spartan, extended stay hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: price
Cons: Overnite, the lack of storage/closet space and dressers was tolerable. For longer stays, it would be unsatisfactgory.
Good price overnite, but very spartan, and not easy to find hotel staff. Wouldn't go back unless last alternative.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

NO amenities!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Not far from SLC airport
Cons: New beds, pillows, bedding, elevator, front desk help 24/7, amenities like shampoo, iron, blow dryer, coffee maker. WINDOW COVERINGS!
Location: Not far from Salt Lake City airport.
May work for a weekly oilfield or construction worker but not for a couple or a family. No shampoo, no blow dryer, no iron, no coffee maker, only 2 bath towels for 3 people. Next to elevator that made all sorts of noise so no sleep in their lousy beds. Flimsy pillows and crappy bedding. No curtains! 1 inch cheap mini blinds that ensure you are awake at the crack of dawn. Reception area is vacated and locked up in the evening so if you have a need or complaint you are out of luck. Price was reasonable. Hotels were booked up in the area for a convention so I booked it as a last resort and a step up from sleeping in the car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay here.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Did not like the area... Receptionist charged my card twice. Did get refund back but the fact that I was on vacation and he drained some of money at the beginning of the week was terrible. Got a smoking rook which was not pleasant. I had asked for nonsmoking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC

Got room that reeked of cigarettes!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
I didn't get the room I paid for. The room reeked of cigarettes!! Smoke came through the vents and didn't sleep all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Value Place Management , Hotel Management
The Value Place team deeply apologizes for your negative experience during your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned will be addressed and handled. It is our mission to provide our guest with a positive experience, and in your case, we are deeply sorry that you were not pleased. We wish you the best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The hotel smelled like smoke bad. My bed sheets smelled horrible like pee. I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Value Place Management , Hotel Management
The Value Place team deeply apologizes for your negative experience during your stay with us. The issues you have mentioned will be addressed and handled. It is our mission to provide our guest with a positive experience, and in your case, we are deeply sorry that you were not pleased. We wish you the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

The value price

Posted Jul 16, 2016
It was great for the value. Staff did leave me alone for the stay. The last day I wish the housekeeper would have waited until 11am to knock on the door not at 10:33am. I felt rushed and thought it was very rude. Just think if that was you or your family staying there. Just to get your room cleaned would you rush them or want to be rushed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Value Place Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us about our staff. We consider them one of our most valuable assets and couldn’t function without them. We will share your comments with them in hopes of continuing to provide a positive experience for our future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reed Larin

Value Place, WVC. .. me and the love of my life♡

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Two weeks here and we are very satisfied with everything. No hustle, very comfortable rooms. Peaceful and a nice location. Plenty of cameras around the hotel parking lot and inside too for our security. Doors open with electronic keys so not just anyone gains access inside the building. I would recommend this hotel, the prices aren't so bad BUT please if the CEOS are reading this , make some cool prices to longer stayees. Thank you. SHADOW and TAVIAN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Value Place Management , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us about our staff. We consider them one of our most valuable assets and couldn’t function without them. We will share your comments with them in hopes of continuing to provide a positive experience for our future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It appeared to be a drug/prostitution infested!!!

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Close it down
Location: Bad area
worse ever, dirty rooms, drug deals and prostitution all around building. Do not stay and for sure do not bring your family. I had it booked for 2 nights and only stayed the one and ate the 2nd night cost. Horrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I apologize for the negative experience during your time at Value Place. We will look into everything you’ve brought to our attention. We wish you luck on all your future travels and hope you’ll give Value Place another chance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Room was very filthy! Black specs in one bed. The other bed had hair all over. Bathtub was not cleaned or rinsed well. My husband and I did not feel comfortable there one bit and I felt dirty the whole time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will look into everything you've brought to our attention. We strive to provide every guest with a great experience and apologize this did not happen in your case.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff was overall helpfull

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The beds are rick hard. Woke up with sore back every day. Noticed bad element but kept to myself and was not bothered. The majority of people there have come on teally hard times. God forbid i have to ever use their facility again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2016 by Heather, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear about your negative experience at Value Place. Thank you for sharing your customer insight with us so we can continue to improve upon our guest experience. We wish you the best and hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.